Info

Kickass News

Hosted by Hollywood producer and political media strategist Ben Mathis, KickAss News is a twice weekly podcast that features the most interesting personalities and thought leaders in politics, entertainment, tech, business, science, and more. Enjoy the podcast? Then please support the show and help keep us on the air by making a donation to our GoFundMe campaign at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Another way you can support the show is to subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on iTunes to help keep us ranking strong on the top podcasts charts. For more information visit www.kickassnews.com. Thanks for listening!
RSS Feed Subscribe in iTunes
Kickass News
2017
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: 2015
Dec 30, 2015

My guest today is one of the leading scholars on the Middle East and Middle East history.  He's Daniel Pipes, president of the Middle East Forum and publisher of Middle East Quarterly.  Prior to that he was appointed to the Board of the U.S. Insitute for Peace by President George W. Bush, and he served as director of the Foreign Policy Research Institute.  

He says it is Islamists, not Muslims, who represent an existential threat to Israel and the West.  He says America should support moderate Muslims and reform in the Middle East, but he also says that real change will come from a brewing ideological civil war between moderate Muslims and radical Islamists who promote Sharia law and the goal of a worldwide Caliphate.  We also discuss which group the U.S. should be supporting in Syria, new signs of hope for an uprising by moderates in Iran, the new authoritarianism in Turkey, a three state solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, the rise of Islam in Europe, and ISIS inspired attacks in the U.S.

You can read more about the Middle East Forum at www.meforum.org or follow him at www.danielpipes.org or on Twitter at @DanielPipes.

If you enjoy this episode, then please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review.  You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.  Or go to the website for the show at  www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button.  Thanks for listening!

Dec 9, 2015

 

In 1955, a 30-year-old conservative intellectual named William F. Buckley Jr. founded National Review magazine.  Since then it has become the most widely read and influential magazine for conservative news, commentary, and opinion.  

 

In honor of the 60th Anniversary of National Review, my guest is editor of National Review Rich Lowry.  You've also seen him as a regular political commentator on Fox News, The McGlaughlin Group, and NBC'S Meet the Press.

 

On the podcast, we talk about his late mentor William F. Buckley Jr., National Review's role in the the future of the conservative movement, and his first job out of college working as a research assistant for Dr. Charles Krauthammer.  Rich Lowry also discusses Donald Trump as a populist in the mold of Andrew Jackson and his theory about an eventual two man GOP primary between Cruz and Rubio.  Plus Rich vents about our mutual pet-peeve - shallow gestures of social media solidarity like #PrayforParis or #IamCharlie.

 

If you enjoy this conversation with Rich Lowry, then click here to read more and subscribe to the online or print edition of National Review magazine.  You can also go to Amazon to order Rich Lowry's books Lincoln Unbound: How an Ambitious Young Railsplitter Saved the American Dream and How We Can Do It Again, Legacy: Paying the Price for the Clinton Years, & his novel Banquo's Ghost.

 

And before you do your online shopping for the holidays, visit our site at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the Amazon link on our sponsor page. If you do that then Amazon will donate a portion of your holiday purchases to help support the podcast. It won’t cost you anything extra. Just do your holiday shopping for books, clothes, jewelry, electronics, etc. on Amazon, and your purchase will help keep us up and running here at KickAss Politics.

 

Another very important way that you can support the show is by helping us reach our end of the year fundraising goal before Christmas. Please donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics or click on the donate button on our website. Please subscribe to the podcast on iTunes and leave us a glowing review. Thanks for listening!

Dec 4, 2015

My guest today is the Garry Kasparov.  For 20 years he was the World Chess Champion and is widely considered to the greatest chess master of all time. Then in 2005, he retired from chess to become a political activist in his native country of Russia.

He has since become the most vocal and high profile critic of Russian President Vladimir Putin. In 2008, he even ran for President against Putin’s hand-picked successor Dimitri Medvedev until being forced out of the election due to rampant corruption and election fraud by pro-Putin forces in Russia. Today Garry Kasparov is in self-imposed exile in New York, where he serves as chairman of the Human Rights Foundation and continues to call for reform in Russia and an end to the corruption and oppression of Vladimir Putin.

 

He has a new book called WINTER IS COMING: WHY VLADIMIR PUTIN AND THE ENEMIES OF THE FREE WORLD MUST BE STOPPED.  He says Vladimir Putin is no longer just Russia’s problem and he could pose a serious threat to world peace and free countries everywhere. Kasparov says talks about Russia’s rocky path to democratic reform in the 1990’s and the factors that made it easy for Vladimir Putin to quickly begin to roll back freedoms in Russia and consolidate his power. Kasparov says that Putin is a ruthless dictator with disturbing parallels to Adolf Hitler, and he will hold on to power at all costs.  Plus, just wait until you hear what he says Vladimir Putin may do if energy prices plummet.  It’s a wake-up call to the free world with my guest Garry Kasparov.

 

If you enjoy this episode then you can order Garry Kasparov’s new book WINTER IS COMING: WHY VLADIMIR PUTIN AND THE ENEMIES OF THE FREE WORLD MUST BE STOPPED on Amazon. You can also download the audiobook for free thanks to a special promotion for our listeners at www.audible.com/kickasspolitics. You can also follow Garry Kasparov at www.kasparov.com or at Twitter at @kasparov63.

 

And before you do your online shopping for the holidays, visit our site at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the Amazon link on our sponsor page. If you do that then Amazon will donate a portion of your holiday purchases to help support the podcast. It won’t cost you anything extra. Just do your holiday shopping for books, clothes, jewelry, electronics, etc. on Amazon, and your purchase will help keep us up and running here at KickAss Politics.

 

Another very important way that you can support the show is by helping us reach our end of the year fundraising goal before Christmas. Please donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics or click on the donate button on our website. Please subscribe to the podcast on iTunes and leave us a glowing review.  Thanks for listening!

Dec 1, 2015

This is officially the 50th episode of KickAss Politics, and we’re celebrating with Karl Rove! He’s a Fox News political contributor and writes a weekly op-ed for the Wall Street Journal. He was the Senior Advisor to the President George W. Bush and Deputy White House Chief of Staff. As Bush’s chief political strategist, Karl Rove masterminded the successful Bush/Cheney campaigns in 2000 and 2004 as well as the historic 2002 midterm election earning him the nickname “The Architect.”

 

Today he comes on the podcast to talk about his new book THE TRIUMPH OF WILLIAM MCKINLEY: WHY THE ELECTION OF 1896 STILL MATTERS. We talk about why 1896 was a crucial turning point for America, how the McKinley campaign invented many of the campaign tactics still used today, and how McKinely waged the first truly national campaign…all from his front porch of his house in Canton, Ohio. Plus Karl will highlight some uncanny similarities between the election of 1896 and the current political environment leading up to 2016, and he’ll draw some important lessons for those candidates running in the GOP primary right now.

 

If you enjoy this episode, you can order Karl Rove’s book THE TRIUMPH OF WILLIAM MCKINLEY: WHY THE ELECTION OF 1896 STILL MATTERS on Amazon. You can get the audio version of his book, narrated for free with a special offer for our listeners at www.audible.com/kickasspolitics.
 

And before you do your online shopping for the holidays, visit our site at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the Amazon link on our sponsor page. If you do that then Amazon will donate a portion of your holiday purchases to help support the podcast. It won’t cost you anything extra. Just do your holiday shopping for books, clothes, jewelry, electronics, etc. on Amazon, and your purchase will help keep us up and running here at KickAss Politics.

 

Another very important way that you can support the show is by helping us reach our end of the year fundraising goal before Christmas. Please donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics or click on the donate button on our website. If you enjoyed this 50th episode of KickAss Politics, then please subscribe to the podcast on iTunes and leave us a glowing review. Thanks for listening!

Nov 17, 2015

Brian Kilmeade is the co-host of Fox News morning show Fox & Friends and host of his own national radio show called Kilmeade & Friends. He's the co-author of the  bestseller GEORGE WASHINGTON’S SECRET SIX, and new he and his co-author Don Yaegar have a new book on a often over-looked chapter in American History.  The book is called THOMAS JEFFERSON AND THE TRIPOLI PIRATES: THE FORGOTTEN WAR THAT CHANGED AMERICAN HISTORY.

200 years before Al-Qauda or ISIS, a young America led by Thomas Jefferson, took a stand against radical Islam and first asserted herself as a world power.  Brian Kilmeade will talk about how the Barbary Wars saved the U.S. economy and how Thomas Jefferson was a reluctant "hawk" who chose to flex America’s military might rather than pay extortion money the pirates who prayed on U.S. ships in the Mediterranean Sea.  Plus we'll discuss the war as a defining moment for new U.S. Navy and the Marines, our first attempt at regime change, and some very important lessons for America's modern day war on radical islam.

 

If you enjoy this episode, you can order Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaegar's book THOMAS JEFFERSON AND THE TRIPOLI PIRATES: THE FORGOTTEN WAR THAT CHANGED AMERICAN HISTORY from Amazon.com or you can even get a signed and inscribed book if you order at www.briankilmeade.com.   Or you can get the audio book for free with a special offer for our listeners at www.audible.com/kickasspolitics.

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please help us reach our fall fundraising goal & donate to the show at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is at http://www.podtrac.com/audience/start-survey.aspx?pubid=VaSxWQpFs7xV&ver=short

Nov 12, 2015

 

With over 2 billion views on YouTube, The Young Turks has become the largest online news show in the world.  Every day, an average of a million and a half people watch The Young Turks or one of many programs from The Young Turks Network.  

 

On today's podcast, I visit the Young Turks Studio in Culver City, California to talk with TYT founder Cenk Uygur as well as Ana Kasparian (co-host of The Young Turks) and John Iadarola (co-host of TYT's Think Tank).  We'll talk about the future of news in the digital age and why TYT's irreverent mix of political news and entertainment has caught on with millennials.  Plus will talk about TYT's 99 hour filibuster of a Supreme Court nominee, Trump on SNL, the American immigrant experience, and much more with The Young Turks.

 

You can check out The Young Turks on YouTube or at www.tytnetwork.com.

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please help us reach our fall fundraising goal & donate to the show at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is at http://www.podtrac.com/audience/start-survey.aspx?pubid=VaSxWQpFs7xV&ver=short

Nov 9, 2015

Forbes Magazine recently announced their annual list of the most powerful people in the world, and for the third year in a row, they chose Russian President Vladimir Putin as #1. In explaining why Putin was picked as the most powerful person in the world for the 3rd year in a row, Forbes said “Russia's president continues to prove he's one of the few men in the world powerful enough to do what he wants --and get away with it.”

 

Putin has been described as cold, enigmatic, calculating, ruthless, and even megalomaniacal, but in this episode we go beyond the comic book villain idea of Vladimir Putin with my guest Steven Lee Myers. He’s been a reporter for the New York Times for 26 years, spending 7 of those years in Russia and part of that time as Moscow bureau chief during the period when Putin consolidated his power.

 

He’s recently written the most extensive biography to date on Valdimir Putin called “The New Tsar: The Rise and Reign of Vladimir Putin.” Today we’ll talk about Putin’s early life in the KGB, how he quickly rose from obscurity to Russian Prime Minister in less than 4 years, what drives him, how he views the west, and what his end game is.

 

If you enjoy this episode then order Steven Lee Myers new book “THE NEW TSAR: THE RISE AND REIGN OF VLADIMIR PUTIN” on Amazon.

 

Or you can download the audio version of this book for free with a special promotion for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics for a free 30 day trial and a free audio book download,

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please help us reach our fall fundraising goal & donate to the show at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is at http://www.podtrac.com/audience/start-survey.aspx?pubid=VaSxWQpFs7xV&ver=short

Nov 7, 2015

This is a rebroadcast of an episode that aired in November 2014 celebrating the 50th anniversary of Ronald Reagan's famous "A Time for Choosing" speech.  

 

In the final days of the 1964 Presidential election, actor Ronald Reagan gave a 30 minute televised speech in support of Republican Barry Goldwater. Goldwater lost by a landslide, but Reagan's "A Time for Choosing," later known simply as "The Speech," put Ronald Reagan on the road to the White House and defined the Conservative movement ever since. On the 50th anniversary of Reagan's "A Time for Choosing," I'll talk with political scholar and Reagan biographer Dr. Steven F. Hayward about the lasting impact that "The Speech" had on Ronald Reagan's political career and Republican party.

 

If you enjoyed this episode, then please subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on Itunes for a chance to win Ben's book of the week. All you have to do to enter is subscribe and leave a review. For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

Nov 4, 2015

 

My guest on this podcast is Bob Woodward.  Together with fellow reporter Carl Bernstein, he tied the Watergate break-in to the Nixon White House in 1972, bringing down President Richard Nixon and earning the first of two Pulitzer Prizes for the Washington Post.  Today he remains associate editor at the Washington Post and has authored a dozen #1 Best-Sellers on the New York Times Nonfiction list.

 

He comes on the show to talk about his new book "THE LAST OF THE PRESIDENT'S MEN" which chronicles the White House career of Alexander Butterfield, who served as deputy assistant to President Nixon.  Through countless documents and hours of interviews, Butterfield gave Bob Woodward a revealing glimpse into the disfunction, paranoia, and corruption in the Nixon White House.  Woodward talks about how Alex Butterfield oversaw the installation of the infamous taping machine in the Oval Office and served as the right-hand man to Nixon Chief of Staff H.R. Haldeman.  We'll talk about the isolated world of Richard Nixon, Nixon's relationship with his wife and with Henry Kissinger, Nixon's awkward though likely unconsummated flirtations with White House secretaries, and the chip on Nixon's shoulder that haunted him his entire life.  Plus we'll talk about the man known as "Deep Throat."

 

If you enjoy this episode, then go to Amazon to order Bob Woodward's fascinating new book "THE LAST OF THE PRESIDENT'S MEN." Or if you want to download the audio version, go to www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics to get your free 30 day trial and a free audio book download of "THE LAST OF THE PRESIDENT'S MEN."

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please help us reach our fall fundraising goal & donate to the show at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is at http://www.podtrac.com/audience/start-survey.aspx?pubid=VaSxWQpFs7xV&ver=short

Oct 28, 2015

My guests today are Fred Barnes and Mort Kondracke. Fred Barnes is the co-founder and executive editor of The Weekly Standard and Mort Kondracke served as the executive editor of Roll Call and former Washington bureau chief for Newsweek.  For over ten years, they co-hosted the popular weekly political show The Beltway Boys on Fox News. Today they still regularly appear as political commentators on Fox News, and they recently teamed up to write the first ever biography exploring the legacy of the late Congressman, quarterback and self-proclaimed bleeding heart conservative, Jack Kemp.

 

According to them, Jack Kemp may well have been the most important American politician who never made it to the White House and in their words, he’s a model of how politics ought to be. We’ll talk about how Jack Kemp’s pro-football career influenced his leadership style, and how he became the backbone behind President Ronald Reagan’s economic policy. We’ll also discuss his crusade to help America’s underprivileged and bring African Americans BACK to the party of Lincoln. Plus Fred Barnes and Mort Kondracke will explain why the next speaker of the House may be the natural political heir Jack Kemp, plus Kemp on Trump, the turn in Jeb Bush’s political fortunes, what to look for in tonight’s 3rd Republican debate.

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please help us reach our fall fundraising goal & donate to the show at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is at http://www.podtrac.com/audience/start-survey.aspx?pubid=VaSxWQpFs7xV&ver=short

Oct 26, 2015

My guest in this podcast is former Congresswoman Michele Bachmann. From 2007 until just this year, she represented Minnesota’s 7th district in Congress and in 2012 Michele Bachmann ran for the Republican nomination for President. In Congress, she served on the House Financial Services Committee and the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence which oversees the CIA, the NSA, and other intelligence agencies. She has been a strong supporter of the Tea Party movement from it’s earliest days and founded the House Tea Party Caucus when she was in Congress.

On this podcast, she’ll talk about the Tea Party’s role in the Republican party today and her thoughts on the GOP field in 2016. As a former tax attorney, she’ll also share her ideas on how to simplify the tax code, and talk about her grave concerns about Russia, Iran, and Syria, and America’s shrinking role in the world under President Obama. Plus she’ll reveal how one of her foster children’s 11th grade homework assignment led to her career politics.

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please help us reach our fall fundraising goal & donate to the show at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is at http://www.podtrac.com/audience/start-survey.aspx?pubid=VaSxWQpFs7xV&ver=short

Oct 26, 2015

 

Mike Pesca hosts Slate's The Gist podcast 5 days a week and he's a weekly panelist on Slate's Hang Up & Listen podcast.  Before that he was a national desk correspondent for NPR covering sports, culture and politics.  He's won two Edward R. Murrow Awards for Excellence in Electronic Journalism, and he has a loyal following of fans who tune in daily to heir his "spiel" of the day.

Today, he'll talk about the House Speakers race, money in politics, and the filibuster.  Plus he'll go off on his one man boycott of Starbucks, The Tea Party and his disdain for the phrase "no problem."

 

If you enjoyed this episode then check out Mike Pesca's weekday podcast called Slate's The Gist.  You can listen on iTunes or go to www.slate.com

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please help us reach our fall fundraising goal by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is and what you want.

 

Oct 19, 2015

Just in time for BRIDGE OF SPIES, Dr. Vincent Houghton comes on the show.  Vince is historian and curator of the International Spy Museum in Washington, DC and host of SPYCAST, a popular weekly podcast covering all things espionage.

 

On today's show, he'll talk about the true story and the real people behind the U-2 spy plane incident and the movie BRIDGE OF SPIES.  Plus he'll talk about the greatest spy who ever lived, Cold War espionage, America's spy history from the Revolutionary War through the CIA, and he'll reveal some of the coolest spy gadgets in the collection at the International Spy Museum.

 

You can learn more about the International Spy Museum by going to www.spymuseum.org, and be sure to check out Vince's podcast on iTunes called SpyCast.

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please help us reach our fall fundraising goal by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is and what you want.

Oct 13, 2015

David Axelrod joins me on the show from Politicon in Los Angeles.  In his 40 year career in politics, he has advised over 150 Democrat campaigns.  He's the campaign wizard behind President Barack Obama's victories in 2008 and 2012 and he served in the White House as Senior Advisor to the President.  Today he's founder and director of the Institute of Politics at the University of Chicago and he now has his own podcast called The Axe Files.

 

On the podcast, he talks about his very first campaign, his early days covering notorious Chicago politics for the Tribune, his 23 year friendship with Barack Obama,
and his love of the political process. We also discuss the healthcare act and the president’s relationship with Israel.  Plus he reveals why he almost sat out the 2008 election, why he shaved his mustache and at least one reason why he says Donald Trump isn’t so bad.

 

If you enjoy this episode, be sure to subscribe to David's new political podcast The Axe Files on iTunes.  You can also purchase his fascinating and insightful autobiography BELIEVER: MY FORTY YEARS IN POLITICS on Amazon.

 

And if you're a young person looking at colleges and considering a career in politics, consider the Institute of Politics at the University of Chicago.  David Axelrod is the founder and director of the Institute.  Face it, whether you're a Republican, a Democrat, or an Independent, if you're aspiring to a career in politics, you'd be hard pressed to find a better teacher than David Axelrod!  Click here to learn more.

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please help us reach our fall fundraising goal by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is and what you want.

Oct 5, 2015

Following the Reagan Library Republican debate, I talk with conservative author, radio host, and speaker, Michael Reagan.  He also happens to be the son of the late President Ronald Reagan.  He says the 2016 GOP candidates need to stop trying to imitate his father and repackage the Reagan legacy to better match their own political brands.  Instead they should embody Reagan's spirit and his leadership qualities.

He says if conservatives want to win in 2016, they need to focus on the future of the party instead of looking back nostalgically to the 80's and the Reagan era.  He also says that many conservatives seem to misunderstand Ronald Reagan and he questions whether the icon of the conservative movement could get elected in the era of the tea party and strict insistence on conservative "purity" from less moderate factions of the Republican Party.  Plus for the first time, Michael Reagan will tell the story of how the morning after losing the 1976 Republican nomination to President Gerald Ford, Ronald Reagan's major backers tried to convince him to run against Gerald Ford as an independent candidate and he'll tell us why his father turned them down.


For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is and what you want.

Sep 25, 2015

In the past month, the murder of a Syrian Archeologist by ISIS terrorists and their senseless destruction of two temples at the UNESCO World Heritage site at Palmyra sent shockwaves through the archeological community,
and drew media attention to what very well may be the biggest threat to the word’s shared cultural heritage since World War II. The maniacs of the so called Islamic State are blowing up historic monuments and looting and selling priceless ancient antiquities in what is now their second biggest revenue source only behind oil.

In this podcast I talk with the men who are leading the charge to rescue some of the most important treasures of the ancient world before it’s too late. Dr. Amr Al Azm who served as Director of Scientific and Conservation Laboratories at the General Department of Antiquities and Museums in Syria and as Head of the Centre for Archaeological Research at the University of Damascus. Now he’s an associate professor of Middle Eastern history and anthropology at Shawnee State University in Ohio, and he’s chairman of the Syrian Opposition’s Heritage Task Force. Then I talk with Roger Michel Jr. He’s the founder and executive director of the Institute for Digital Archeology, which is using some high tech gadgets to catalogue ancient monuments and artifacts in hope of recovering and restoring them one day for future generations.  
 
For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.  Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is and what you want.

Sep 12, 2015

Following President Obama’s decision to normalize relations with Cuba and re-open the U.S. embassy in Havana, I talk with two men who bore witness the brutality and economic collapse of Cuba under Fidel Castro.  They both escaped to the U.S. as young boys, but their fathers weren’t so lucky, and they’ll tell their stories in today’s episode.

 

 

My first guest is Carlos Eire.  Today he’s a history and religion professor at Yale University and a best-selling author who won the 2003 National Book Award for his memoirs, WAITING FOR SNOW IN HAVANA: CONFESSIONS OF A CUBAN BOY, which he followed up with LEARNING TO DIE IN MIAMI: CONFESSIONS OF A REFUGEE BOY.  

 

 

And in the second half of the podcast, I’ll talk with Miami Mayor Tomas Regalado.  After coming to America as kid, he became a broadcast journalist at the spanish-language network Univision and the first Cuban-American member of the White House Press Corps.  Now Tomas Regalado is Mayor of the city Miami, and he is personally dealing with the aftermath of Obama’s Cuba policy as it affects his constituents in “Little Havana,” home to the largest group of Cuban exiles in America.

 

 

We’ll take an honest look at the cost of throwing away 53 years of U.S. foreign policy toward Cuba and caving to the world’s last communist dictator.

 

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.  Also, we’d appreciate it if you would take our listener survey to give us an idea of who our audience is and what you want.

Sep 8, 2015

Just in time for the Senate debate over President Obama's nuclear deal with Iran, Senator Lindsey Graham comes on the show to talk about why the deal is bad for America & the Middle East and how he intends to prevent Iran from getting a nuke.  Plus we talk about the GOP primary, Trump, and the advice Senator John McCain gave him about running for President.

 

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

Aug 27, 2015

Republican pollster Kristen Soltis Anderson is founding partner at the polling firm Echelon Insights.  She's also the co-host of the political podcast The Pollsters and author of a new book called The Selfie Vote: Where Millennials Are Leading America (and How Republicans Can Keep Up).  

 

 

She'll talk about what separates millennials from previous generations and how their values and priorities are shaping their politics.  Kristen warns that if Republicans write off millennials now, they may never get them back.  She'll outline a plan for winning young voters with a conservative message that addresses their priorities and relates to their values.  Then she'll talk about who in the 2016 field "gets it" and who doesn't.  Plus she'll share some broader polling data on the Trump phenomenon, the Hillary email scandal, and the issues that may drive the 2016 election.

 

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

Aug 24, 2015

My guest today is Ronald Bailey.  He's an award-winning science journalist for Reason Magazine and an adjunct scholar at the Cato Institute.  In his new book THE END OF DOOM: ENVIRONMENTAL RENEWAL IN THE TWENTY-FIRST CENTURYhe says the sky ISN'T falling, and in fact, the world is becoming safer, cleaner, and healthier than ever before.  On this podcast, he'll present the proponderance of scientific data debunking a wide range of environmental alarmist myths about overpopulation, world hunger, the "energy crisis," GMOs & pesticides, deforestation, the "cancer epidemic," endangered species, and more.

 

He'll reveal how activists parading as "scientists" completely ignore the scientific method and overwhelming data when it contradicts their wild theories.  Why?  Because sensational predictions of environmental apocalypse and misinformation campaigns against things like vaccination mask a radically anti-capitalist agenda, and doom has become a powerful fundraising tool for some of the world's biggest environmental organizations.  Plus Ron Bailey will argue for a rational, measured approach to climate change and explain how the FDA is killing millions more people than it helps by delaying life-saving drugs from hitting the market.

 

If you enjoyed listening to this episode then please subscribe to "KickAss Politics with Ben Mathis" on iTunes so you'll receive new episodes as they become available. For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

Aug 18, 2015

Welcome to the preview station for KickAss Politics with Ben Mathis!  My guest today is Arthur C. Brooks, best-selling conservative author and president of the American Enterprise Institute.  He has a new book called THE CONSERVATIVE HEART: HOW TO BUILD A FAIRER, HAPPIER, AND MORE PROSPEROUS AMERICA.  He says conservatives need to stop just being against things and start being FOR people.  He talks about his journey to from a french horn player and a liberal ex-patriot living in Barcelona to economist, best-selling conservative author and head of A.E.I.  He believes conservatives must become better at delivering their message and relating to everyday Americans if they're going to grow the party and he has some advice for the 2016 candidates.  He also says Republicans need to correct the impression that they are against entitlements and a social safety net and they need to make fighting poverty and lifting up people a moral priority.

 

This is just a sample episode as part of the KickAss Politics preview station.  If you enjoyed listening to this episode, there are many more episodes at our main iTunes station at "KickAss Politics with Ben Mathis.”  Just go to the link below, then click “View in iTunes” and “Subscribe.”

 

https://itun.es/i6Sq5Vn 

 

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

 

Aug 17, 2015

In the summer of 2009, South Carolina Governor Mark Sanford was a darling of the Tea Party and a leading contender for the GOP nomination in 2012 until it all came crashing down in a bizarre sex scandal and an even more bizarre attempt at "damage control."  His speechwriter Barton Swaim had a front row seat for the fiasco and he writes about it in his new book THE SPEECHWRITER: A BRIEF POLITICAL EDUCATION.  

He'll discuss the scandal as a case study in how NOT to do damage control.  He'll also talk about the former Governor's legendary cheapness, his obsession with Rosa Parks, and what it's like to be a speechwriter for a politician who loves bad writing.  Plus Barton will talk about what it's like to work in the political spin room and his observations about politicians in general.

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

 

Aug 17, 2015

Welcome to the preview station for KickAss Politics with Ben Mathis!  In the last podcast, we covered the broad strokes of President Obama’s nuclear deal with Iran as well as the ramifications of this deal for the Middle East and for U.S. diplomacy.  In today’s podcast, we’ll focus on the one who has the most to lose in this deal - Israel.  Today’s guest is Danny Ayalon.  He’s the former Israeli Ambassador to the U.S. and served as the Deputy Foreign Minister under the current Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu.  He’ll discuss what the Iran deal means for Israel, how it may lead to some surprising alliances with Israel’s Arab neighbors, and we’ll discuss Prime Minister Netanyahu’s next move.

 

 
For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
Aug 16, 2015

In today's episode, we'll look at just what's in President Obama's nuclear agreement with Iran and what it means for U.S. prestige, Israel, and the Middle East.  Will it set Iran on a path torward a nuclear bomb?  Will it set off a nuclear arms race among other Middle East nations?  Will it set a dangerous precedent in U.S. foreign policy.  We'll discuss all of this with Michael Rubin.  He's a former Pentagon official specializing in Iran and a Middle East scholar with the American Enterprise Insititute.  He has written extensively on the subject of rogue regimes and Iran's nuclear ambitions, and he'll explain why this deal is not something to celebrate.

 

 
For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
Aug 16, 2015

In today's episode, I talk with Bruce Carlson, the host of the very popular podcast "My History Can Beat Up Your Politics."  Bruce takes the politics of today and puts it into larger historical context for listeners.  He says knowledge of the political history of America    is key to putting political devleopments into perspective, controlling heated partisanship, and creating better and more informed voters.  He'll share historical precedents for the 2016 election, give us a crash course in the "Lyndon Johnson treatment," discuss his favorite "what ifs" in American history, and give his two cents on the decision to knock Alexander Hamilton off the $10 bill.

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
1 2 Next »