Info

Kickass News

Hosted by Hollywood producer and political media strategist Ben Mathis, KickAss News is a twice weekly podcast that features the most interesting personalities and thought leaders in politics, entertainment, tech, business, science, and more. Enjoy the podcast? Then please support the show and help keep us on the air by making a donation to our GoFundMe campaign at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Another way you can support the show is to subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on iTunes to help keep us ranking strong on the top podcasts charts. For more information visit www.kickassnews.com. Thanks for listening!
RSS Feed Subscribe in iTunes
Kickass News
2017
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: 2016
Dec 30, 2016

 

Greg Louganis is a four-time Olympic champion and widely considered to the greatest diver in history.  He's also a champion of LGBT rights and today's Olympic divers.  On Monday, January 2, he will serve along-side his fellow Olympic medalists Janet Evans and Allyson Felix as Grand Marshall in the 128th Annual Rose Parade.  

Today Greg will talk about his remarkable sport career and some of the hurdles he’s overcome along the way, including when the US decided to boycott the 1980 Olympics, his infamous head injury in the ’88 Olympics and how he came back to win the gold medal the next day, and his battles with HIV and homophobia.  Plus, a strange encounter he had with Vice-President-elect Mike Pence and what Greg Louganis is doing help today's Olympic athletes adjust to life after sports.

Be sure to watch Greg in the 128th Annual Pasadena Rose Parade on ABC at 8AM Pacific on Monday (12/2/17).  For more information on Greg, visit www.GregLouganis.com and follow him on Facebook and on Twitter at @GregLouganis.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Dec 26, 2016

Today’s guest is the co-founder & former CEO of AOL Steve Case. In his new book THE THIRD WAVE: AN ENTREPRENEUR’S VISION OF THE FUTURE, Steve describes the third wave of the internet’s evolution in which the internet is going to be ingrained in every aspect of our lives and he talks about the business sectors that stand to benefit most. He’ll discuss the key factors that will separate the successful startups from the failures and why disruptive industries won’t necessarily spring up in Silicon Valley but all over the country. He’ll reminisce about the early days of the internet and the lessons learned as he took AOL from an idea that no one even knew they wanted to the biggest merger in business history.

If you enjoyed today’s episode, order THIRD WAVE: AN ENTREPENEUR’S VISION OF THE FUTURE on Amazon or download the audiobook for free through a special trial offer just for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews.com. You can follow Steve Case at www.revolution.com or on Twitter at @SteveCase.

Please subscribe to KickAss News on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickassnews.com and click on the donate button.  Be sure to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/kick Thanks for listening!

Dec 22, 2016

My guest today is legendary comedian David Steinberg. David Steinberg will talk about how being part of the early days of Second City in Chicago, his 130 appearances on The Tonight Show (more than anyone other than Bob Hope) and his friendship with Johnny Carson, and how his appearance on The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour singlehandedly got the most popular show on television cancelled. Plus David Steinberg talks about directing Larry David on Curb Your Enthusiasm, being bestman at a gangster’s wedding, getting on Nixon’s enemies list, and why he says I definitely should NOT try my hand at stand-up comedy.

If you enjoyed my conversation with David Steinberg, I would highly recommend that you subscribe to his wonderful podcast The David Steinberg Podcast on iTunes. Order the documentary Quality Balls: The David Steinberg Story on Amazon, and follow David on Twitter at @david_steinberg or at www.thedavidsteinberg.com.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave a review. Help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickassnews.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Dec 19, 2016

Perri Peltz is a filmmaker behind the new documentary Risky Drinking.  It's a co-producting between HBO and the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.  Today I talk with Perri and Dr. George Koob who is the director of the NIAAA about some of the signs that you or someone you love might have an alcohol disorder, the toll alcoholism can take on a person's physical and mental health, and some of the new treatments being used that go way beyond the traditional 12-step model.

Risky Drinking airs tonight at 8PM EST on HBO.  You can also watch it on demand with a membership to HBO GO or HBO NOW.  For more information, visit www.HBO.com.  For more information on alcohol disorders and treatment options, visit the NIAAA website at www.niaaa.nih.gov.

Today's podcast is sponsored by Reuters TV, video news that's personalized, always up to date, and ready when you are. Visit www.reuters.tv/kickass to check out their cool new free news app and show your support for the podcast.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Dec 15, 2016

Nada Bakos was a CIA analyst and the Chief Targeting officer charged with finding the godfather of ISIS and mastermind of al Qaida in Iraq - Abu Musab al-Zarqawi. She’s also (according to some) the inspiration for the character of “Maya,” the CIA analyst in the Oscar-winning film Zero Dark Thirty. Today, Nada Bakos will talk about how she rose up through the predominantly male world of the CIA to become one of the agencies top analysts and the chief targeter of the most wanted man in the world. She reveals how CIA trackers finally found Abu Musab al-Zarqawi, how communications intercepts gave her a unique window on the power struggle between Bin Laden’s Al Qaeda and Zarqawi’s Al Qaeda in Iraq, and how those communications eventually led to the whereabouts of Osama Bin Laden himself.

You can visit Nada Bakos’s website at www.NadaBakos.com and read more of her work as a Senior Fellow at the Foreign Policy Research Institute at www.fpri.org. Follow Nada Bakos on twitter at @NadaBakos and pre-order her book The Targeter: My Life in the CIA, on the Hunt for the Godfather of ISIS which hits book shelves in June 2017.

Today's podcast is sponsored by Reuters TV, video news that's personalized, always up to date, and ready when you are. Visit www.reuters.tv/kickass to check out their cool new free news app and show your support for the podcast.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Dec 12, 2016

Senator George J. Mitchell was the primary architect of the 1998 Good Friday Agreement for peace in Northern Ireland and the U.S. Special Envoy for Middle East Peace. Today he and his co-author Alon Sachar discuss their new book A Path to Peace: A Brief History of Israeli-Palestinian Negotiations and a Way Forward in the Middle East.

They talk about why the peace process has failed time after time, and they outline the specific concessions each side must make to finally achieve lasting peace. Senator Mitchell discusses the big differences between brokering peace in Northern Ireland and negotiating peace in the Middle East, and how the political constraints on the Israeli Prime Minister and the Palestinian President can often work against the peace process. Plus we’ll talk about the history of U.S.-Israeli  the sometimes tense relationship between President Barack Obama and Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu.

Order A Path to Peace: A Brief History of Israeli-Palestinian Negotiations and a Way Forward in the Middle East on Amazon or you can also download the audio version for free through a special offer for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. Follow Alon Sachar on Twitter at @alonsachar, and visit his website at www.AlonSachar.com.

Today's podcast is sponsored by Reuters TV, video news that's personalized, always up to date, and ready when you are.  Visit www.reuters.tv/kickass.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Dec 8, 2016

 

For almost seventeen years, The Daily Show with Jon Stewart brilliantly re-defined the borders between television comedy, political satire, and opinionated news coverage. Now a new book called The Daily Show: An Oral History as Told by Jon Stewart, the Correspondents, Staff and Guests chronicles the show's behind-the-scenes gags, controversies, and camaraderie.

Today, the journalist and author Chris Smith talks about how The Daily Show rose from a scrappy jester in the age of 24-hour political news to become part of the beating heart of politics and a trusted source for not only comedy but also commentary.  He talks about the weirdly symbiotic relationship between Fox News and The Daily Show, he’ll talk about Jon Stewart’s legendary scraps with conservative pundits like Bill O’Reilly, and a creepy meeting Stewart had with Fox News founder Roger Ailes. He’ll reveal how Stephen Colbert morphed into a right wind pundit, which Daily Show alum was Jon Stewart’s original handpicked replacement, and how the show has inspired activists in other countries to use satire to take on some of the world’s most oppressive regimes. Plus we’ll talk about whether Jon Stewart is getting sick of everyone asking “don’t you wish you’d stuck around for the 2017 election?”

If you enjoyed today’s episode then you can order The Daily Show: An Oral History as Told by Jon Stewart, the Correspondents, Staff and Guests on Amazon or you can also download the audio version for free through a special offer for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. For more information visit www.DailyShowTheBook.com. Follow Chris Smith on Twitter at @chrissmithnymag and read more of his work in New York Magazine or at nymag.com. You can watch The Daily Show 4 nights a week on Comedy Central. For more info and bonus content, visit Comedy Central’s website at www.CC.com.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Dec 5, 2016

Talk radio host and author Michael Medved disucsses his new book The American Miracle: Divine Providence in the Rise of the Republic. He’ll talk about the idea of American exceptionalism, and why it’s about more than just ego. He says fortune has favored America from the very start, and he points to watershed moments like the Louisiana Purchase as evidence that a divine hand has guided the United States through her most troubled times. He’ll also talk about the responsibility that comes with that and his many years as a national film critic.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Michael Medved's book The American Miracle: Divine Providence in the Rise of the Republic on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. The Michael Medved Show airs every weekday on Salem Radio Networks.  For information and stations, visit www.MichaelMedved.com and follow Michael Medved on Twitter at @MedvedSHOW.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Dec 1, 2016

Two time American Book Award winning author Deirdre Bair digs deep into the notorious gangster who ruled Chicago with an iron fist in her new biography Al Capone: His Life, Legacy, and Legend. Today she’ll share how she got unprecedented access to the surviving relatives of Al Capone and how their stories passed down through the family revealed the human side of the notorious gangster. She’ll cut through some of the many myths surrounding Capone including the famous baseball bat scene and talk about the Harvard Business School case study on his illegal empire.  She’ll discuss the security precautions Al Capone took and divulge where the gangster hid out when things got too hot in Chicago. She’ll dispel the legend of Elliott Ness and talk about the people who really caught Al Capone including one prominent lady lawyer in the 1920’s.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Deirdre Bair's book Al Capone: His Life, Legacy, and Legend on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. Visit her at www.deirdrebairauthor.com.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 28, 2016

The former White House Press Secretary and co-host of The Five on Fox News Channel says if you want a friend in Washington, get a dog.  She talks about her new book called Let Me Tell You about Jasper...How My Best Friend Became America's Dog and how pets can bridge political divides between humans.  She also talks about her time as White House Press Secretary, the post-election vibe at The Five, how her dog Jasper became a social media celebrity, and her ideas for the next White House dog.  

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Dana Perino's book Let Me Tell You about Jasper...How My Best Friend Became America's Dog on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews.  Watch Dana Perino on The Five weekdays on Fox News and subscribe to her podcast called Perino and Stirewalt: I'll Tell You What on iTunes or GooglePlay.  Visit her at www.danaperino.com and follow her on Twitter at @DanaPerino.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 25, 2016

My guest today is Arianna Huffington, co-founder, president, and editor-in-chief of the Huffington Post and author of the new best-seller THE SLEEP REVOLUTION: TRANSFORMING YOUR LIFE ONE NIGHT AT A TIME. She talks about America's dangerous sleep crisis and how our culture of ambition discourages us from getting a proper night's sleep. But she says we've got it all wrong. In fact, sleep is the ultimate performance enhancer.

She'll discuss the research that shows how sleep deprivation has a negative effect on our physical and mental health, our brain function, our job performance, our relationships, and our overall happiness. She'll reveal what actually goes on with our body and mind while we're sleeping, she'll discuss her personal sleep ritual and 12 tips for getting a better night's rest.

If you enjoyed today’s episode, order THE SLEEP REVOLUTION: TRANSFORMING YOUR LIFE ONE NIGHT AT A TIME on Amazon or download the audiobook for free through a special trial offer just for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. You can follow Arianna Huffington at www.huffingtonpost.com/arianna or on Twitter at @ariannahuff.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

 

Nov 21, 2016

Emmy-nominated documentary filmmakers Ricki Stern and Annie Sundberg talk about their new film Marathon: The Patriots Day Bombing, which airs 11/21 on HBO. Today, they discuss the 2013 Boston marathon bombings, the long road to recovery for the 264 people who were injured, and the unique bond that has formed between these survivors and our warriors returning from Iraq and Afghanistan. They also talk about some of the remarkable advances in prosthetics that are helping them regain their mobility, and the survivors’ diverse opinions on capital punishment for Marathon bomber Dzhokhar Tsarnaev.

Marathon: The Patriots Day Bombing airs Monday, November 21 at 8PM Eastern on HBO, or you can watch any time with a subscription to HBO GO or HBO NOW. For more information, visit HBO.com. Ricki and Annie’s website is www.breakthroughfilms.org, and you can follow them on Twitter at @RicksterStar and @anniesundberg.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 18, 2016

MARS, a six-part miniseries from Ron Howard, premiered this week on National Geographic Channel, and today my guest is space journalist Leonard David. He authored the companion book to the miniseries titled MARS: Our Future on the Red Planet.

He discusses why we want to go to Mars, how we’ll get there, and how long it may take. Leonard David also shares how humans will survive the harsh environment of the red planet including little oxygen, gail force winds, and cancer causing radiation. He talks about the possibility that life may already exist there, the psychological toll of venturing so far from earth, and why private sector initiatives led by businessmen like Elon Musk could beat NASA to the punch.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Leonard David's new book MARS: Our Future on the Red Planet on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews.  Learn more about NatGeo's MARS miniseries at http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/mars  Keep up with Leonard David at www.leonarddavid.com.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 14, 2016

The great Carol Burnett joins me to reminisce about some of the best times on The Carol Burnett Show.  She shares stories about Harvey Korman, Tim Conway and Vickie Lawrence, including which one she almost had to fire and which one could always crack her up in front of the cameras. She talks about the boys club that was network television in the 60’s and 70’s and she reveals the comedy sketch that she wished she hadn’t done and some of her favorite questions from the audience. Plus some advice for young comedic actors and some exciting news about her big return to network television. 

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Carol Burnett's memoir In Such Good Company: Eleven Years of Laughter, Mayhem, and Fun in the Sandbox on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 10, 2016

Shep Gordon is a legendary music manager, film producer and inventor of the “celebrity chef.” Among his many clients, he has guided the careers of Alice Cooper, Luther Vandross, Pink Floyd, Blondie, Teddy Pendergrass, Groucho Marx, and Raquel Welch. He is beloved in the entertainment business for his kindness, honesty, and sense of service in an otherwise cut-throat industry, and it has earned him the nickname “Supermensch.”

Today, Shep Gordon will reveal how checking into the right motel and a little advice from Jimi Hendrix launched his career in the music business. He’ll talk about some of the stunts he came up with to get publicity for his very first client, Alice Cooper, and how an incident with the band and a very young Cameron Crowe inspired a classic scene in the movie “Almost Famous.” He talks about taking on the notorious “chitlin’ circuit” while managing R&B singer Teddy Pendergrass, and how he invented the concept of the “celebrity chef” and made guys like Wolfgang Puck and Emeril Lagasse household names. Plus Shep Gordon discusses the high price of fame, his rules for doing “compassionate business,” and cooking for the Dalai Lama.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Shep Gordon's new memoir They Call Me Supermensch: A Backstage Pass to the Amazing Worlds of Film, Food, and Rock ’n Roll on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. Follow Shep Gordon on Twitter at @SupermenschShep.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 9, 2016

It's almost finally over!  Today, I share some final thoughts on the 2016 election and make my closing arguments against Donald Trump.  With guests Bill Kristol, editor of The Weekly Standard, Pulitzer-winning New York Times journalist David Cay Johnston, former CIA/NSA director, General Michael HaydenStuart Stevens, chief strategist for Mitt Romney’s 2012 campaign, Jonah Goldberg, senior editor at National Review, CNN Global contributor Parag Kanna, Jacob Weisberg, editor-in-chief of Slate Magazine, General Wesley Clark, and former Mexican President Vicente Fox.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 5, 2016

 

Today, author/historian H.W. Brands talks about his new book The General vs. the President: MacArthur and Truman at the Brink of Nuclear War.  The Pulitzer finalist and master story-teller reveals the two men’s competing vision for America during the Cold War, just how close we came to a nuclear war with China and the Soviets, and the significance of the Korean War as the first real test of the newly formed United Nations. He’ll discuss why taking a stand in the Korean Peninsula was important to Truman, why Truman wanted MacArthur to win the war but not win too much, and the many ways the General subtly (and not so subtly) snubbed his Commander-in-Chief. Plus, we talk about Donald Trump’s obsession with General MacArthur, and whether or not we would WANT a man like MacArthur running America’s military today.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order H.W. Brands' book The General vs. the President: MacArthur and Truman at the Brink of Nuclear War on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. Visit his website at www.hwbrands.com and follow him on Twitter at @HWBrands.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 1, 2016

Celebrity Chef Mario Batali (host of The Chew) comes on the show to celebrate America’s favorite regional dishes and talk about his new book Big American Cookbook: 250 Favorite Recipes from Across the USA. We talk about the history of our regional cuisines and how they evolved from popular “Old World” recipes brought over by our immigrant forefathers. We discuss the amazing diversity of barbecue, the age-old debate over New England clam chowder vs. Manhattan clam chowder, and where he thinks the next big culinary scene is about emerge. He discusses the origins of his love for cooking, how he maintains quality and consistency when operating 26 different restaurants around the world, and why it's not the end of the world if you can't buy “locally grown and organic."  Plus proper pickling/preserving and other helpful tips.

Order Chef Mario Batali’s Big American Cookbook: 250 Favorite Recipes from Across the USA on Amazon. You can watch his show The Chew every weekday on ABC, visit his website at www.mariobatali.com for all kinds of other fun stuff, and follow him on twitter at @mariobatali.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Oct 25, 2016

Author James Patterson has sold over 350 million books and had more #1 New York Times Bestsellers than any author in history. He is best known for his fictional Alex Cross novels, but today he comes on the show to talk about his newest book - a true crime story about the sensational case of Jeffrey Epstein, the Palm Beach billionaire accused of sexually assaulting or molesting as many as 47 underaged girls as young as 12 and 13.

James Patterson reveals how Epstein went about recruiting teenage girls on an almost industrial scale and how it led Donald Trump to personally ban him from Mar-a-Lago.  We talk about the recent rape allegations against Trump involving Epstein, as well as other high profile figures who have been drawn into Epstein’s sordid story including Bill Clinton, Prince Andrew, and Allen Dershowitz.  Patterson discusses how Epstein finally landed on the Palm Beach Police’s radar, and he talks about the strange matter of the Florida State Attorney who intervened in the investigation and some would say even  “stacked the deck” in Epstein’s favor.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order his book Filthy Rich: A Powerful Billionaire, the Sex Scandal that Undid Him, and All the Justice that Money Can Buy: The Shocking True Story of Jeffrey Epstein on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews.  Patterson also has a new novel in his popular Alex Cross series called “Cross the Line” coming out on November 21st.  James Patterson’s website is www.JamesPatterson.com and follow him on Twitter at @JP_Books.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Oct 20, 2016

Dr. Daniel J. Levitin is the #1 best-selling author of A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age and today he’ll teach you how to sharpen your b.s. detector.  He exposes ways supposedly reliable news sources like USA Today and Fox News monkey with charts and graphs to fool you and how to tell whether a website is a reliable news source or has a hidden a agenda.  We discuss some terms you should know when looking at health data, we make sense of the proliferation of counter-knowledge on the internet, we talk about why you can’t always trust experts, and we fact check the 2016 election.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order his book A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age on Amazon or you can also download the audio version for free through a special offer for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. Keep up with Dan Levitin on his website at www.DanielLevitin.com and follow him on Twitter at @DanLevitin.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Oct 17, 2016

Kevin Kelly is co-founder and senior maverick at Wired magazine. He has a new book called The Inevitable: Understanding the 12 Techonological Forces That Will Shape Our Futureand he lays out his optimistic view of the next 30 years. He says right now is the best time in history to invent something, and he has a simple formula for the next 10,000 startups.  We talk about big trends like the shift from an ownership society to an access society and how consumers are now becoming active participants, editors, and even creators of content.  We talk about how virtual reality will transport us to whole other worlds and why Americans need to get over our Orwellian fear of data tracking.  Plus Kevin talks about his love/hate relationship with those pesky software updates.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Kevin Kelly’s book
The Inevitable: Understanding the 12 Technological Forces That Will Shape Our Future on Amazon or you can also download the audio version for free through a special offer for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. Keep up with Kevin Kelly at www.kk.org and follow him on Twitter at @kevin2kelly.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Oct 14, 2016

Director Rod Lurie talks about his new film Killing Reagan for Nat Geo.  He sets the record straight about the popular myths of a situation room crisis and a power grab by Alexander Haig while Reagan was in the operating room.  Rod talks about where he was on the day Reagan was shot, collaborating with Killing Reagan author Bill O'Reilly, and the recent release of Reagan attacker John Hinckley Jr.

Killing Reagan airs Sunday, October 16 at 8/7 Central on the National Geographic Channel or you can watch online at www.natgeotv.com.  For more information about Killing Reagan, including clips, and behind the scenes extras, go to www.channel.nationalgeographic.com/killing-reagan.  Follow Rod Lurie on Twitter at @RodLurie.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Oct 10, 2016

Dylan Thuras is the co-founder and creative director at AtlasObscura.com, the popular travel site that revels in the weird, the unexpected, the overlooked, the hidden and the mysterious.  He co-authored a new book based on the site and it's called Atlas Obscura: An Explorer’s Guide to the World’s Hidden Wonders.  

Today we'll talk about some of the strangest attractions the world has to offer including a Fiery crater that has been burning in the desserts of Turkmenistan since 1971, the independent micronation of Sealandia on an abandoned offshore oil platform in the North Sea, and a saloon in the Ukon that serves cocktails garnished with a severed human toe.  Plus hipster tourism, lake monsters, doggie suicide bridges, and the hidden wonders in your neighborhood.

If you enjoyed this episode, then order Atlas Obscura: An Explorer’s Guide to the World’s Hidden Wonders on Amazon and visit www.AtlasObscura.com to read articles, find new travel ideas, and join special Atlas Obscura tours abroad and in your city. Follow Dylan Thuras on Twitter at @DylanThuras and Atlas Obscura at @atlasobscura.

Please subscribe to Kickass News and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Oct 7, 2016

In Part 2 on Artificial Intelligence, we examine the possibility of A.I. achieving "the singularity," the moment when technology achieves human-like consciousness and  the possible consequences for humanity if and when machines surpass us.

Sam Vincent and Jonathan Brackley, the creators of AMC's drama series HUMANS, discuss how intelligent machines and people might interact, what the singularity might be like from the perspective of a conscious A.I., and whether a man-made system that thinks and feels like a human being should be entitled to human rights.  

Then Dr. Seth Baum, Executive Director of the Global Catastrophic Risk Institute, will map out several scenarios that could lead to the end of human civilization at the hands of A.I.  He talks about how more traditional existential threats like a nuclear disaster or a pandemic might play into it, and we also discuss the more near-term issues of lethal autonomous weapons and hackers infiltrating intelligent systems.  

Finally I talk with Professor Nick Bostrom, Director of the Future of Humanity Institute at Oxford University.  His best-selling book Superintelligence: Paths, Dangers, Strategies has won acclaim from tech leaders including Elon Musk and Bill Gates.  He warns that the singularity could come much faster than we think in the form of an "intelligence explosion," and humanity would be wise to hope for the best but prepare for the worst.  He’ll outline ideas for the best ways to get A.I. to work WITH humans, rather than against us, and he'll talk about his mission to persuade the tech industry and popular media to take the issue of artificial intelligence seriously.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Nick Bostrom’s Superintelligence: Paths, Dangers, Strategies on Amazon.  Follow him at www.nickbostrom.com or at www.fhi.ox.ac.uk.  Keep up with Seth Baum at www.sethbaum.com and www.gcrinstitute.org or you follow him on Twitter at @SethBaum. Follow Sam Vincent and Jonathan Brackley on Twitter at @smavincent and @JonBrackley.  Visit the fan site for AMC'S HUMANS at www.amc.com/shows/humans, and you can watch the first season of HUMANS at AMC On Demand or Amazon.

Please subscribe to Kickass News and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnewspodcast.com for more fun stuff. Thanks for listening!

Oct 5, 2016

Artificial Intelligence is coming, and in Part 1 of this two part podcast, I talk with some of the leading A.I. scientists, tech journalists, and futurists about how A.I. may change our lives within the next three decades.  First I ask futurist Prof. Michio Kaku about just how close we are to developing real artificial intelligence.  Then I talk with Dr. Guruduth Banavar, Vice President and Chief Science Officer in charge of IBM's Cognitive Computing Division, about the latest version if IBM's Watson computer and how it's already transforming a wide range of industries from medicine to law.  Then I'll talk with Martin Ford, author of Rise of the Robots and Kevin Kelly, founding editor of Wired Magazine, about their competing visions of how A.I. could affect our economy and society in the next few years.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Martin Ford’s Rise of the Robots
and Kevin Kelly’s book The Innevitable on Amazon.  If you’re interested IBM’s cognitive solutions including Watson, then visit www.IBM.com/cognitive. Kevin Kelly's website is www.kk.org, and Martin Ford’s blog at www.econfuture.wordpress.com.
Follow Guruduth Banavar on Twitter at @banavar, Kevin Kelly at @kevin2kelly,
and Martin Ford at @MFordFuture.

Please subscribe to Kickass News and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnewspodcast.com for more fun stuff. Thanks for listening!

1 2 3 4 Next »