Info

Kickass News

Hosted by Hollywood producer and political media strategist Ben Mathis, KickAss News is a twice weekly podcast that features the most interesting personalities and thought leaders in politics, entertainment, tech, business, science, and more. Enjoy the podcast? Then please support the show and help keep us on the air by making a donation to our GoFundMe campaign at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Another way you can support the show is to subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on iTunes to help keep us ranking strong on the top podcasts charts. For more information visit www.kickassnews.com. Thanks for listening!
RSS Feed Subscribe in iTunes
Kickass News
2017
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: January, 2016
Jan 29, 2016

For 10 years The Senate Majority Leader office traded hands between Senators Tom Daschel (Democrat) and Trent Lott (Republican).  As the leaders of their respective parties in the U.S. Senate, Senator Lott and Senator Daschle often found themselves on opposite sides of an issue, but they kept things moving in the Senate and got things done for the American people by working together, showing mutual respect, and engaging in that four letter word-compromise.  

Today they say that politics is getting so ugly and divisive that has nearly stalled the legislative process, because no one is willing to reach across the aisle and find common ground.  They write about it in their new book, CRISIS POINT: WHY WE MUST - AND HOW WE CAN - OVERCOME OUR BROKEN POLITICS IN WASHINGTON AND ACROSS AMERICA.  Today they come on the show to talk about it and offer solutions to fix the rancorous partisan divide and get Congress moving again.

If you enjoy this episode, you can click here order Tom Daschle and Trent Lott's book CRISIS POINT: WHY WE MUST - AND HOW WE CAN - OVERCOME OUR BROKEN POLITICS IN WASHINGTON AND ACROSS AMERICA on Amazon.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Jan 27, 2016

This week National Review Magazine published a special edition with the headline "Against Trump."  In that issue, the editors of National Review along with 22 noted conservatives like Bill Kristol, Glenn Beck, Katie Pavlock, Michael Medved, and Dennis Prager made an impassioned plea for Republican voters not to nominate the brash real estate billionaire as the Republican nominee.  They look at Donald Trump's record (including his many years as a Democrat) and make a thorough case that Donald Trump is not a credible conservative.

I'll have a new episode for you later in the week, but in light of all the media and the controversy surrounding this "Against Trump" issue of National Review, I am rebroadcasting my interview from this past December with National Review editor Rich Lowry.  In it we discuss Donald Trump's worse than spotty record as a conservative, his influence on the conservative movement and his role in the GOP primary, and I'll ask Rich Lowry what his late friend and mentor William F. Buckley, Jr. might think of Trump if he were alive today.  We'll also talk about the 60th Anniversary of National Review, the possibility of a Cruz-Rubio showdown, hashtag heroics in the wake of the Paris attacks, and his memories of William F. Buckley, Jr.

If you enjoy this conversation with Rich Lowry, then click here to read more and subscribe to the online or print edition of National Review Magazine. You can also go to Amazon to order Rich Lowry's books Lincoln Unbound: How an Ambitious Young Railsplitter Saved the American Dream and How We Can Do It Again, Legacy: Paying the Price for the Clinton Years, & his novel Banquo's Ghost.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Jan 21, 2016

As Chairman of the House Committee on Homeland Security, Congressman Michael McCaul has looked into the dark minds of America’s enemies and their most diabolical plans. In his new book FAILURES OF IMAGINATION: THE DEADLIEST THREATS TO OUR HOMELAND AND HOW TO THWART THEM, he lays out 8 horrifying scenarios for how terror groups and hostile nations might attempt to attack the U.S. The scariest part of it all is that these nightmarish situations are largely based on real intel about past, present and potential threats.

On today’s episode, we discuss everything from a North Korean cyber-attack on U.S. financial markets to terrorists releasing smallpox at Disney World or detonating a radiological bomb at the second busiest U.S. port. Chairman McCaul reveals the terrorist plots that form the basis for these theoretical attacks and what we can do to prevent them from becoming reality.

If you like this epsiode, you can order Congressman Michael McCaul’s book FAILURES OF IMAGINATION: THE DEADLIEST THREATS TO OUR HOMELAND AND HOW TO THWART THEM on Amazon or download the audio version of his book for free with a special promotion for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics.
 
Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Jan 12, 2016

In today's episode, I explore the areas where America's prisons are failing society and the growing call for sensible, results-based criminal justice reform.  My guests are Senator Rob Portman, author of the Second Chance Act, Julie Stewart president of Families Against Mandatory Minimums, and Jeff Smith, author of Mr. Smith Goes to Prison: What Me Year Behind Bars Taught Me About America's Prison Crisis.

 

In the first part, Jeff Smith will recount his eye-opening year in federal prison, and what he saw personally about how the prison system is failing to rehabilitate criminals, destroying families, and in many ways, financially crippling the most vulnerable Americans.  Then I'll talk with Julie Stewart, founder and president of Families Against Mandatory Minimums, about how sentencing discretion has been taken away from judges, filling our prisons will non-violent offenders.  Finally, I'll talk with Senator Rob Portman of Ohio who authored The Second Chance Act and has been a leader on the Hill on the issue of criminal justice reform.  He'll explain how innovative programs like the Second Chance Act are doing a better job of reforming and rehabilitating criminals by giving them a shot at a better life.

 

If you enjoy this episode, visit the website for Families Against Mandatory Minimums at www.famm.org or follow Julie Stewart on Twitter at @julieonjustice.  Encourage your Congressman or Senator to support the re-authorization of the Second Chance Act and get involved with a local Prisoner Re-Entry Task Force in your county.  You can order Jeff Smith's book Mr. Smith Goes to Prison: What Me Year Behind Bars Taught Me About America's Prison Crisis on Amazon or download the audio version of his book for free with a special promotion for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics.

 

 

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Jan 8, 2016

Ben is sick this week, but he'll be back with a brand new episode on Monday.  In the meantime, enjoy this rebroadcast.  In part 2 of The Political Genius of George Washington, I'll talk again with author and historian John Ferling about motivated George Washington to run for President, what motivated him to leave the office after two terms and what he might think of the political climate today.
 
 
If you enjoyed this episode, then please subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on Itunes for a chance to win Ben's book of the week.  All you have to do to enter is subscribe and leave a review.  For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like show your support then donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

Jan 8, 2016

Ben is sick this week, but he'll be back with a brand new episode on Monday.  In the meantime, enjoy this rebroadcast.  In this episode, I'll talk with author and historian John Ferling about the hidden political genius of our first President.
 
 
If you enjoyed this episode, then please subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on Itunes for a chance to win Ben's book of the week.  All you have to do to enter is subscribe and leave a review.  For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

Jan 8, 2016

Ben is a little sick this week, but he'll be back with a new episode on Monday.  In the meantime, enjoy this rebroadcast of Part 2 of his expose on E.M.P.

In Part 1 on E.M.P. or the phenomenon known as an electromagnetic pulse, guest Dr. Peter Vincent Pry (director of the Task Force on National & Homeland Security) warned that an electromanetic pulse, either caused naturally by a solar flare or by a high altitude nuclear detonation by our enemies, has the ability disable the entire U.S. electric grid and send Americans right back to a time before electricity.  And not just for weeks or months but for years.  The scariest part is that right now, the U.S. is completely unprepared and defenseless against an E.M.P.  We are a sitting duck.

 
In Part 2, Dr. Peter Vincent Pry will discuss why the U.S. government refuses to take the neccessary steps to protect the grid against an E.M.P. attack, the powerful lobby that is behind a misinformation campaign in the media designed to convince you that E.M.P. isn't even real, and how some states aren't waiting around for the Feds to act but instead are protecting their citizens against the very real threat of an electromagnetic pulse.
 
If you enjoyed this episode, then please subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review for a chance to win Ben's book of the week.  For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
 

Jan 8, 2016

Ben is a little sick this week, but he'll be back with a new episode on Monday.  In the meantime, enjoy this rebroadcast on E.M.P.

If you have heard of an electromagnetic pulse at all, it's probably from sci-fi movies like The Matrix or novels, but an E.M.P. is not science fiction.  E.M.P. is a real scientific phenomenon that has the ability to destroy not just every single electronic in your home, but the entire U.S. electric grid.  It has happened before and will almost certainly happen again.  But next time, it may not be a natural E.M.P. from a solar flare.  It very well may be a man-made E.M.P. from a nuclear warhead detonated at a high altitude by one of America's enemies like North Korea or Iran.  And the scariest part is that right now the U.S. is entirely defenseless against an E.M.P. attack.  E.M.P. expert Dr. Peter Vincent Pry will explain what an E.M.P. is, how bad the devastation would be, and which countries have weaponized E.M.P. with the intention of using them against the United States.

 
If you enjoyed this episode, then please subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review for a chance to win Ben's book of the week.  All you have to do to enter is subscribe and leave a review.  For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

1