Info

Kickass News

Hosted by Hollywood producer and political media strategist Ben Mathis, KickAss News is a twice weekly podcast that features the most interesting personalities and thought leaders in politics, entertainment, tech, business, science, and more. Enjoy the podcast? Then please support the show and help keep us on the air by making a donation to our GoFundMe campaign at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Another way you can support the show is to subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on iTunes to help keep us ranking strong on the top podcasts charts. For more information visit www.kickassnews.com. Thanks for listening!
RSS Feed Subscribe in iTunes
Kickass News
2017
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: March, 2016
Mar 31, 2016

Today I’m learning about the innovations that will drive the next industrial revolution with my guest Alec Ross, author of the best-selling book THE INDUSTRIES OF THE FUTURE.  Alec served for four years as Senior Advisor for Innovation to Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, acting as the diplomatic lead on a range of issues including cybersecurity, Internet Freedom, disaster response, and the use of network technologies in conflict zones.  Now he’s a Distinguished Visiting Fellow at Johns Hopkins University and works as an advisor to investors, corporations, and government leaders.

Alec Ross will reveal the specific fields that will most shape our economic future, and examine pressing issues like the prospect of a cyberwar arms race and the impact of robotics on the U.S. job market. Plus we’ll discuss what skill sets will be most in demand in the next decade, how Americans can adapt, and what today’s parents can do to prepare their children for tomorrow.

If you enjoyed this episode, then you can order THE INDUSTRIES OF THE FUTURE by Alec Ross on Amazon at http://amzn.to/1RNws3e.  You can also download the audio version of his book for free with a special trial offer just for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics.  Follow Alec Ross on Twitter at @AlecJRoss or visit his site at www.alecross.com.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review.  You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Mar 28, 2016

My guest today is Australian journalist Michael Ware. He’s a former Bagdad Bureau chief for Time Magazine and war correspondent for CNN. In 2003 Michael Ware arrived in Baghdad as a novice reporter on a three-week assignment to cover the invasion of Iraq. He left seven years later, having gained unprecedented access to the Iraqi insurgency and American troops and scarred by having seen the unimaginable brutality of the group that eventually became ISIS. Now his story is told in a new documentary called ONLY THE DEAD SEE THE END OF THE WAR that airs Monday, March 28, at 9PM Eastern on HBO.

On the podcast, Michael Ware talks about the time he was kidnapped and nearly beheaded by Al Qaeda in Iraq and he reveals how he became in his own words “obsessed” with the leader of that group Abu Mousab Al Zarqawi. He also talks about being embedded with U.S. marines during the grueling battle of Falluja and having a front row seat for the birth of the modern day terrorist nation state called ISIS.

If you enjoyed this episode, then you can watch Michael Ware's film ONLY THE DEAD SEE THE END OF THE WAR tonight, Monday, March 28, at 9PM Eastern on HBO.  Or you can view it with a subscription to HBO NOW or HBO GO.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Mar 25, 2016

Today in Part 2 of my interview with theoretical physicist and futurist Dr. Michio Kaku, we look as some of the incredible advances in science and technology that will radically transform our lives within our lifetime.  In many cases, these inventions are already in the testing phase and may be widely available within the next 5 to 10 years.  

These include computers that will fit into a contact lens, Iron Man-like super soldiers, modular robots, liquid biopsies that will detect cancer 10 years before a tumor forms, replaceable human organs, hand-held MRI machines, recording motion pictures of our dreams, uploading information into our brain, downloading our entire consciousness onto a computer after we're gone, and recent discoveries that will dramatically slow down aging and perhaps one day even stop death entirely.  It's an amazing discussion about some very real technological leaps being made right now and the unbelievable inventions that could completely change our lives very soon.

If you enjoyed my interview with Dr. Michio Kaku, then follow him at www.mkaku.org or on Twitter at @michiokaku.  If you're interested in the science and technology of the near future, then I highly recommend Dr. Michio Kaku's books "The Physics of the Future" and "The Future of the Mind."  You can order them on Amazon or you can download the audio version of these books for free with a special trial offer at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics. Also be sure to subscribe to his weekly podcast on iTunes called "Explorations in Science" and you can check his site for stations that carry his weekly syndicated radio show called "Science Fantastic."

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Mar 22, 2016

My guest today is world renowned theoretical physicist, futurist, best-selling author, and popularizer of science Dr. Michio Kaku.  He is the co-founder of string field theory and he continues to work on his ambitious mission to complete Albert Einstein's Unified Field Theory a.k.a. Einstein's Theory of Everything.  Today he'll talk about his work on the Unified Field Theory, he'll discuss how the recent discovery of Einstein's Gravitation Waves will give scientists "a window into creation," and how his lifelong love of theoretical physics and the science of the future began.  He'll reveal the real science that may one day make science fiction wonders like force fields, time machines, starships, teleportation, and travel to parallel universes possible.  Plus Dr. Michio Kaku saves my life from the same thing that took down Malaysia Air Flight 370.

If you enjoyed my interview with Dr. Michio Kaku, then follow him at www.mkaku.org or on Twitter at @michiokaku.  You can order his books "Einstein's Cosmos," "The Physics of the Impossible," "The Physics of the Future," and "The Future of the Mind" on Amazon or you can download the audio version of these books for free with a special trial offer at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics. Also be sure to subscribe to his weekly podcast on iTunes called "Explorations in Science" and you can check his site for stations that carry his weekly syndicated radio show called "Science Fantastic."

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Mar 18, 2016

My guest today is Steve Forbes is chairman and editor-in-chief of Forbes Media. He’s authored or co-authored 4 books including his most recent one titled REVIVING AMERICA: HOW REPEALING OBAMACARE, REPLACING THE TAX CODE, AND REFORMING THE FED WILL RESTORE HOPE AND PROSPERITY.

Steve Forbes discusses the tragic irony of a healthcare system caters to the insurance companies, employers and big government while all but ignoring the needs of the end user. He’ll reveal how one of the unintended consequences of Obamacare is that it’s forcing many Americans to take charge of their own healthcare and paving the way for a true healthcare market that put the needs of consumers first. He also makes the case for a flat tax as the one system that really benefits everyone and a return to the gold standard as the best way to stabilize and grow the U.S. economy. Plus Steve Forbes will talk about the future of Forbes, running for President, and more.

If you enjoyed my interview with Steve Forbes, then order his book REVIVING AMERICA: HOW REPEALING OBAMACARE, REPLACING THE TAX CODE, AND REFORMING THE FED WILL RESTORE HOPE AND PROSPERITY on Amazon. You can also download the audio version of his book for free with a special trial offer at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics. You subscribe to Forbes at www.forbes.com and follow Steve Forbes on Twitter at @SteveForbesCEO.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Mar 14, 2016

 My guest today is Bill Kristol, founder and editor of The Weekly Standard and a political contributor to ABC’S This Week with George Stephanopalis. Just in time for the big GOP primaries in FL & OH, we talk about whether  Rubio, Cruz, and Kasich may have missed chance to beat Donald Trump outright. We discuss the possibility of a brokered convention and the prospect of an alternative conservative launching a third party run. Plus we talk about Bill Kristol’s 20 year career as editor of the #1 weekly conservative publication in America.

If you enjoyed this episode then go to www.weeklystandard.com to read Bill Kristol’s op-eds and subscribe to the print or online versions of The Weekly Standard. You can also subscribe to the Weekly Standard podcast on iTunes and follow Bill on Twitter at @BillKrystol.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Mar 10, 2016

 

On this episode, we tackle that special breed of whacko known as the conspiracy theorist.  You've probably encountered them at a cocktail party or on your social media.  They're the ones who are always carrying on about the JFK assassination or Obama's birth certificate and they say things like "that's exactly what THEY want you to believe" or "you have to connect the dots."  The problem is that in most instances they're connecting "dots" that aren't there and fueling ignorance, irrationality and paranoia.

My guest today is an expert at dispelling such nonsense.  He's Dr. Michael Shermer, founder & publisher of Skeptic Magazine.  He also writes a monthly column for Scientific American and he's published 14 books about debunking conspiracy theories, the paranormal and pseudoscience including his newest book SKEPTIC: VIEWING THE WORLD WITH A RATIONAL EYE.

Today Dr. Michael Shermer will talk about the type of person who falls for conspiracy theories, the psychology behind conspiracy beliefs, how media figures like Alex Jones and Jesse Ventura are willing accomplices to the spreading ignorance and paranoia, and the danger of conspiratorial thinking infecting our politics.  Plus he'll debunk popular conspiracies surrounding the JFK assassination, 9/11, the moon landing, vaccinations, Area 51, the death of Princess Diana, secret societies, the Denver Airport, the Sandy Hook massacre, Elvis, Obama's birth certificate, and much more.

If you enjoyed this episode, then you can follow Dr. Michael Shermer on Twitter at @michaelshermer or at www.michaelshermer.com.  You can also learn more, subscribe to Skeptic Magazine and even join the Skeptic Society by visiting www.skeptic.com.  You can order SKEPTIC: VIEWING THE WORLD WITH A RATIONAL EYE or any of Dr. Michael Shermer's books on Amazon.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Mar 8, 2016

General Michael Hayden is the only person in U.S. history to have served as head of both the CIA and the NSA.  General Hayden served as the Director of the National Security Agency from 1999 to 2005 where he implemented a dramatic overhaul and expansion of the agency in the wake of the 9/11 terror attacks.  He later serves as America's first Principal Deputy Director of National Intelligence, and then as Director of the Central Intelligence Agency under President George W. Bush.  General Hayden has written a new book called PLAYING TO THE EDGE: AMERICAN INTELLIGENCE IN THE AGE OF TERROR.

On the podcast, General Michael Hayden will give a frank assessment of the intelligence failures leading up to 9/11 and talk about what he did as NSA director and later as director of the CIA to close those intelligence gaps.  We’ll discuss the conundrums of domestic surveillance, CIA black sites, and enhanced interrogation.  Plus we’ll talk about cyber warfare, the Apple encryption controversy, the personal toll for the men and women who keep America’s secrets, why he says the U.S. military may have an obligation to reject orders from a President Donald Trump, his thoughts on James Bond and the TV series Homeland, and much more.

If you enjoy this episode, you can order General Michael Hayden's new book PLAYING TO THE EDGE: AMERICAN INTELLIGENCE IN THE AGE OF TERROR on Amazon.  You can also download the audio version of PLAYING TO THE EDGE for free with a special 30 day trial for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics.  Follow General Michael Hayden on Twitter at @GenMHayden.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Mar 4, 2016

My guest today is two time Pulitzer Prize-winning conservative political cartoonist Michael Ramirez.  His cartoons appear daily in Investor's Business Daily where he serves as co-editor and his work is also syndicated in over 550 newspapers and magazines.

He'll will talk about what makes good political satire, what’s fair game and when is "too soon."  Plus we’ll discuss the very first political cartoon that he drew in college, how President Obama has been a gift comedy gods, and how one innocent drawing led to a not so friendly visit from the Secret Service.

If you enjoy this episode, you view Michael Ramirez's work each day in Investor's Business Daily at www.investors.com/cartoons.  Follow him on Twitter at @Ramireztoons and you can order his new book of cartoons called GIVE ME LIBERTY OR GIVE ME OBAMACARE on Amazon.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Mar 1, 2016

My guest is former Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld.  In his remarkable 50 year career, he has served as a U.S. Congressman, Director of the Office Economic Opportunity and U.S. Ambassador to NATO under President Richard Nixon, White House Chief of Staff to President Gerald Ford, Special Middle East Envoy for President Ronald Reagan, and Secretary of Defense...both for Presidents Gerald Ford and George W. Bush.  In fact, Donald Rumsfeld has the distinction of being both the youngest and the oldest Secretary of Defense.  

Today he comes on the show to talk about the his amazing career, the current state of national defense, and the "unknown knowns" that America might be missing.  Plus he'll talk about his first impression of Saddam Hussein, his favorite President, his prolific body of memos written, the issues that keep him up at night, and how Winston Churchill inspired him to create a fun new gaming app called Churchill Solitaire.

If you enjoy this episode, then be sure to go to your app store and download Churchill Solitaire for your tablet device or smart phone.  You can also find out more about the Rumsfeld Foundation at www.rumsfeldfoundation.org.  View the massive archive of his memos at www.papers.rumsfeld.com and be sure to order his fascinating books Knowns and Unknowns and Rumsefeld's Rules on Amazon.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

1