Info

Kickass News

Hosted by Hollywood producer and political media strategist Ben Mathis, KickAss News is a twice weekly podcast that features the most interesting personalities and thought leaders in politics, entertainment, tech, business, science, and more. Enjoy the podcast? Then please support the show and help keep us on the air by making a donation to our GoFundMe campaign at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Another way you can support the show is to subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on iTunes to help keep us ranking strong on the top podcasts charts. For more information visit www.kickassnews.com. Thanks for listening!
RSS Feed Subscribe in iTunes
Kickass News
2017
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: May, 2016
May 31, 2016

My guest today is General Wesley Clark.  In his 38 years of military service, he served in various positions including Director of Strategic Plans and Policy during the War in Bosnia and NATO commander and Supreme Allied Commander in Europe leading Operation Allied Force during the war in Kosovo.  Today General Clark will talk about the harrowing experience that earned him a Silver Star in Vietnam and what strategic mistakes were made in that war.  He'll talk about leading the allied campaign during the war in Kosovo, his first impressions of Serbian leader Slobodan Milosevic, and how Milosevich was evaded justice for his war crimes.  He'll discuss how he rethought the traditional organization of our military to give greater strategic responsibility to soldier on the ground plus General Clark speaks about the war in Iraq, the 2016 election, and why he likes Ike.

If you enjoyed my conversation with General Wesley Clark, you can follow him on Twitter at @GeneralClark or visit his consulting firm's website at www.wesleykclark.com.  I would also encourage you to read his excellent book A Time to Lead: Duty, Honor, Country.

Vote for Kickass Politics for a 2016 Podcast Award in the category of News & Politics at www.podcastawards.com.  You can vote for us once every day between now and June 12.  You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.patreon.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

 

May 26, 2016

My guest today is global strategist, world traveler and best-selling author Dr. Parag Khanna.  He's written a new book called Connectography: Mapping the Future of Global Civilization.  In contrast to the demonization of globalization, trade and immigration that's taking place in the 2016 election, Parag Khanna offers a hopeful vision of the future in which global supply chains matter more than borders, resources are shared most efficiently, and the most connected nations and people will thrive.  Today he'll talk about the fallacies of nationalism and anti-globalism, he’ll talk about connectivity and trade as the greatest force for world peace, and he’ll discuss how the future will be less about nations and borders and more about interconnected mega-cities.  

If you enjoyed my conversation with Parag Khanna, I'd encourage you to read his book Connectography: Mapping the Future of Global Civilization.  You can order it on Amazon or download the audiobook for free through a special trial offer for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics. Follow Parag Khanna at www.paragkhanna.com or on Twitter at @ParahKhanna.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.patreon.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

 

May 23, 2016

 

Today I'm talking about genomics with the man who headed the Human Genome Project Dr. Francis Collins.  He is currently the director of the U.S. National Institutes of Health.  On the podcast Dr. Collins explains how genomics works, how it is leading to breakthroughs in our understanding of many diseases, and leaps in early detection and targeted treatment of them.  He also discusses the limits of genomics and some of the ethical and regulatory issues that have arisen from it.

If you enjoyed my conversation with Dr. Francis Collins, you can learn more about the Human Genome Project by visiting www.genome.gov and you can learn about some of the exciting new research going on at the National Institutes of Health at www.nih.gov.  Follow Dr. Collins on Twitter at @NIHDirector.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.patreon.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

 

May 19, 2016

Emmy-winning director Jay Roach talks about his new biopic ALL THE WAY which stars Brian Cranston (BREAKING BAD) as President Lyndon B. Johnson.  Jay Roach is the Emmy & Golden Globe Award-winning director/producer behind such hits as the AUSTIN POWERS films, MEET THE PARENTS & its sequel MEET THE FOCKERS, THE CAMPAIGN, RECOUNT, GAME CHANGE, and last year’s critically acclaimed movie TRUMBO.  His new film ALL THE WAY (premieres 5/21 on HBO) follows L.B.J. during the tumultuous year when he assumed the White House, passed the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and staved off a revolt by Southern delegates in his own party to win a difficult re-election as President.

On the podcast, Jay discusses his interest in political subject matter like RECOUNT, GAME CHANGE & ALL THE WAY, and how he finds political history rife with opportunities for humor. We talk about Lyndon Johnson’s unconventional negotiating tactics, why L.B.J. took a huge politics risk in fighting for the Civil Rights Act, and how that risk nearly led to his own political demise at 1964 Democratic National Convention. We talk about his complicated relationships with Martin Luther King Jr., Hubert Humphrey, and his wife Lady Bird Johnson, and how he was perhaps the only President who intimidated J. Edgar Hoover. Plus we ponder whether Lyndon Johnson, the ultimate Washington insider, would survive or thrive in today’s anti-establishment political climate.

If you enjoyed my interview with director Jay Roach, I highly recommend that you watch ALL THE WAY. The performance by Bryan Cranston as President Lyndon B. Johnson is remarkable and the film is certain to win a slew of Emmy Awards this year. It premieres this Saturday May 21 on HBO at 8PM Eastern or you can watch it anytime with a subscription to HBO GO or HBO NOW.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

 

May 16, 2016

My guest is Paul Wolfowitz, former President of the World Bank, Deputy Secretary of Defense, and Ambassador to Indonesia.  Today the world’s most famous neoconservative will tell us why he doesn’t like the term neocon.  He'll talk about how his hatred of dictators and the teachings of Leo Strauss have shaped his own political philosophy, and how that has led to a lifelong passion for promoting freedom and combatting corruption as the first step to ending global poverty and preventing wars.  Ambassador Wolfowitz will discuss both U.S. conflicts in Iraq and how Saddam Hussein's cynical manipulation of Iraqi Islamists may have inadvertently lead to ISIS.  He will discuss his time as Ambassador to Indonesia and how that country might be a good template for democracy and reform in the Muslim world.  He’ll share some great advice he once got from Secretary of State George Schultz and voice his concerns over the Iran nuclear deal and North Korean missile tests.  


If you enjoyed today’s episode, then you can keep up with Paul Wolfowitz's work and writings at www.aei.org.  You can also follow the American Enterprise Institute on Twitter at @AEI.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

May 13, 2016

My guest Josh King is a master of political optics. He is the former White House director of production for presidential events under President Bill Clinton. He has a new book called OFF SCRIPT: AN ADVANCE MAN’S GUIDE TO WHITE HOUSE STAGECRAFT, CAMPAIGN SPECTACLE, AND POLITICAL SUICIDE. Today he talks about some of the most infamous political blunders caught on camera including the infamous Dukakis in the tank image and his experience on the ill-fated Dukakis campaign. He’ll discuss how advance teams create memorable campaign events, how the best planned photo-op can backfire, why no President EVER wears a hat, and the pitfalls of political optics in the age of social media, including how to avoid creating a meme-able photo.

If you enjoyed today’s episode, order OFF SCRIPT: AN ADVANCE MAN’S GUIDE TO WHITE HOUSE STAGECRAFT, CAMPAIGN SPECTACLE, AND POLITICAL SUICIDE on Amazon or download the audiobook for free through a special trial offer just for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics.com. You can follow Josh King at www.polioptics.com or on Twitter at @Polioptics.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

May 10, 2016

In his frankest interview yet, former Mexican President Vicente Fox pulls no punches about the man he calls a “false prophet."  It was recorded the same week as his apology to Donald Trump, and President Fox strike a very different tone,doubling down on "I'm not going to pay for the f_cking wall" and adding "and please don’t take out the f_cking full word." Vicente Fox compares the man he calls the "hated gringo" and "ugly American" to Latin American dictators like Hugo Chavez and Juan Peron.  He also warns that if Trump starts a trade war, then Mexico could retaliate by stopping or limiting money transfers and remittances for US corporations and American tourists in Mexico.  Because as Vicente Fox says "Don’t play around with us, we can jump walls, we can swim rivers, & we can defend ourselves."  And he warns that if Trump becomes President, he "could take us to a war, not just a trade war."  

If you enjoyed this interview, you can learn more about the Centro Fox at www.centrofox.org.mx. You can follow Vicente Fox on Twitter at @VicenteFoxQue.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

May 9, 2016

This is a preview of my interview with former Mexican President Vicente Fox.  Download the full episode on Tuesday, May 10 via iTunes.  Among other things, he describes Donald Trump as "crazy" and a "false prophet."  He compares Trump to latin American dictators like Hugo Chavez, he lays out why Trump’s suggestion that America take away Mexico’s remittances would lead to mutually assured economic destruction, and he responds to Trump’s threat that that wall just got a LOT higher. 

Subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes to receive new episodes as soon as they become available. If you enjoy the podcast, then please help us reach our fundraising goal for the year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

May 8, 2016

Today’s guest is Steven McAndrew, Head of Emergency Operations for the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies.  He's been on the front lines of some of the biggest disasters in recent history including earthquakes, floods, tsunamis, super-typhoons, disease outbreaks, and violent conflicts.  He'll talk about what it's like to snap into action, coordinate a disaster response, and mobilize his teams every passing hour can be the difference between life and death.  He'll talk about his work leading the Red Cross response to the Ebola outbreak in Sierra Leone and what that taught him about the importance of information/education and the potential for a global pandemic.  Plus he'll share his recent experiences handling a very different sort of humanitarian disaster as Head of the Emergency Operations for the Syrian Refugee Crisis.

To donate and learn more about the International Committee of the Red Cross, go to www.ifrc.org.  You can also visit www.redcross.org, to donate and volunteer at a Red Cross location near you.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

May 6, 2016

Today’s guest is the co-founder & former CEO of AOL Steve Case. In his new book THIRD WAVE: AN ENTREPRENEUR’S VISION OF THE FUTURE, Steve describes the third wave of the internet’s evolution in which the internet is going to be ingrained in every aspect of our lives and he talks about the business sectors that stand to benefit most. He’ll discuss the key factors that will separate the successful startups from the failures and why disruptive industries won’t necessarily spring up in Silicon Valley but all over the country. He’ll reminisce about the early days of the internet and the lessons learned as he took AOL from an idea that no one even knew they wanted to the biggest merger in business history.

If you enjoyed today’s episode, order THIRD WAVE: AN ENTREPENEUR’S VISION OF THE FUTURE on Amazon or download the audiobook for free through a special trial offer just for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics.com. You can follow Steve Case at www.revolution.com or on Twitter at @SteveCase.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

1