Info

Kickass News

Hosted by Hollywood producer and political media strategist Ben Mathis, KickAss News is a twice weekly podcast that features the most interesting personalities and thought leaders in politics, entertainment, tech, business, science, and more. Enjoy the podcast? Then please support the show and help keep us on the air by making a donation to our GoFundMe campaign at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Another way you can support the show is to subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on iTunes to help keep us ranking strong on the top podcasts charts. For more information visit www.kickassnews.com. Thanks for listening!
RSS Feed Subscribe in iTunes
Kickass News
2017
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: November, 2016
Nov 28, 2016

The former White House Press Secretary and co-host of The Five on Fox News Channel says if you want a friend in Washington, get a dog.  She talks about her new book called Let Me Tell You about Jasper...How My Best Friend Became America's Dog and how pets can bridge political divides between humans.  She also talks about her time as White House Press Secretary, the post-election vibe at The Five, how her dog Jasper became a social media celebrity, and her ideas for the next White House dog.  

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Dana Perino's book Let Me Tell You about Jasper...How My Best Friend Became America's Dog on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews.  Watch Dana Perino on The Five weekdays on Fox News and subscribe to her podcast called Perino and Stirewalt: I'll Tell You What on iTunes or GooglePlay.  Visit her at www.danaperino.com and follow her on Twitter at @DanaPerino.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 25, 2016

My guest today is Arianna Huffington, co-founder, president, and editor-in-chief of the Huffington Post and author of the new best-seller THE SLEEP REVOLUTION: TRANSFORMING YOUR LIFE ONE NIGHT AT A TIME. She talks about America's dangerous sleep crisis and how our culture of ambition discourages us from getting a proper night's sleep. But she says we've got it all wrong. In fact, sleep is the ultimate performance enhancer.

She'll discuss the research that shows how sleep deprivation has a negative effect on our physical and mental health, our brain function, our job performance, our relationships, and our overall happiness. She'll reveal what actually goes on with our body and mind while we're sleeping, she'll discuss her personal sleep ritual and 12 tips for getting a better night's rest.

If you enjoyed today’s episode, order THE SLEEP REVOLUTION: TRANSFORMING YOUR LIFE ONE NIGHT AT A TIME on Amazon or download the audiobook for free through a special trial offer just for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. You can follow Arianna Huffington at www.huffingtonpost.com/arianna or on Twitter at @ariannahuff.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

 

Nov 21, 2016

Emmy-nominated documentary filmmakers Ricki Stern and Annie Sundberg talk about their new film Marathon: The Patriots Day Bombing, which airs 11/21 on HBO. Today, they discuss the 2013 Boston marathon bombings, the long road to recovery for the 264 people who were injured, and the unique bond that has formed between these survivors and our warriors returning from Iraq and Afghanistan. They also talk about some of the remarkable advances in prosthetics that are helping them regain their mobility, and the survivors’ diverse opinions on capital punishment for Marathon bomber Dzhokhar Tsarnaev.

Marathon: The Patriots Day Bombing airs Monday, November 21 at 8PM Eastern on HBO, or you can watch any time with a subscription to HBO GO or HBO NOW. For more information, visit HBO.com. Ricki and Annie’s website is www.breakthroughfilms.org, and you can follow them on Twitter at @RicksterStar and @anniesundberg.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 18, 2016

MARS, a six-part miniseries from Ron Howard, premiered this week on National Geographic Channel, and today my guest is space journalist Leonard David. He authored the companion book to the miniseries titled MARS: Our Future on the Red Planet.

He discusses why we want to go to Mars, how we’ll get there, and how long it may take. Leonard David also shares how humans will survive the harsh environment of the red planet including little oxygen, gail force winds, and cancer causing radiation. He talks about the possibility that life may already exist there, the psychological toll of venturing so far from earth, and why private sector initiatives led by businessmen like Elon Musk could beat NASA to the punch.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Leonard David's new book MARS: Our Future on the Red Planet on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews.  Learn more about NatGeo's MARS miniseries at http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/mars  Keep up with Leonard David at www.leonarddavid.com.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 14, 2016

The great Carol Burnett joins me to reminisce about some of the best times on The Carol Burnett Show.  She shares stories about Harvey Korman, Tim Conway and Vickie Lawrence, including which one she almost had to fire and which one could always crack her up in front of the cameras. She talks about the boys club that was network television in the 60’s and 70’s and she reveals the comedy sketch that she wished she hadn’t done and some of her favorite questions from the audience. Plus some advice for young comedic actors and some exciting news about her big return to network television. 

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Carol Burnett's memoir In Such Good Company: Eleven Years of Laughter, Mayhem, and Fun in the Sandbox on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 10, 2016

Shep Gordon is a legendary music manager, film producer and inventor of the “celebrity chef.” Among his many clients, he has guided the careers of Alice Cooper, Luther Vandross, Pink Floyd, Blondie, Teddy Pendergrass, Groucho Marx, and Raquel Welch. He is beloved in the entertainment business for his kindness, honesty, and sense of service in an otherwise cut-throat industry, and it has earned him the nickname “Supermensch.”

Today, Shep Gordon will reveal how checking into the right motel and a little advice from Jimi Hendrix launched his career in the music business. He’ll talk about some of the stunts he came up with to get publicity for his very first client, Alice Cooper, and how an incident with the band and a very young Cameron Crowe inspired a classic scene in the movie “Almost Famous.” He talks about taking on the notorious “chitlin’ circuit” while managing R&B singer Teddy Pendergrass, and how he invented the concept of the “celebrity chef” and made guys like Wolfgang Puck and Emeril Lagasse household names. Plus Shep Gordon discusses the high price of fame, his rules for doing “compassionate business,” and cooking for the Dalai Lama.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Shep Gordon's new memoir They Call Me Supermensch: A Backstage Pass to the Amazing Worlds of Film, Food, and Rock ’n Roll on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. Follow Shep Gordon on Twitter at @SupermenschShep.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 9, 2016

It's almost finally over!  Today, I share some final thoughts on the 2016 election and make my closing arguments against Donald Trump.  With guests Bill Kristol, editor of The Weekly Standard, Pulitzer-winning New York Times journalist David Cay Johnston, former CIA/NSA director, General Michael HaydenStuart Stevens, chief strategist for Mitt Romney’s 2012 campaign, Jonah Goldberg, senior editor at National Review, CNN Global contributor Parag Kanna, Jacob Weisberg, editor-in-chief of Slate Magazine, General Wesley Clark, and former Mexican President Vicente Fox.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 5, 2016

 

Today, author/historian H.W. Brands talks about his new book The General vs. the President: MacArthur and Truman at the Brink of Nuclear War.  The Pulitzer finalist and master story-teller reveals the two men’s competing vision for America during the Cold War, just how close we came to a nuclear war with China and the Soviets, and the significance of the Korean War as the first real test of the newly formed United Nations. He’ll discuss why taking a stand in the Korean Peninsula was important to Truman, why Truman wanted MacArthur to win the war but not win too much, and the many ways the General subtly (and not so subtly) snubbed his Commander-in-Chief. Plus, we talk about Donald Trump’s obsession with General MacArthur, and whether or not we would WANT a man like MacArthur running America’s military today.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order H.W. Brands' book The General vs. the President: MacArthur and Truman at the Brink of Nuclear War on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. Visit his website at www.hwbrands.com and follow him on Twitter at @HWBrands.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Nov 1, 2016

Celebrity Chef Mario Batali (host of The Chew) comes on the show to celebrate America’s favorite regional dishes and talk about his new book Big American Cookbook: 250 Favorite Recipes from Across the USA. We talk about the history of our regional cuisines and how they evolved from popular “Old World” recipes brought over by our immigrant forefathers. We discuss the amazing diversity of barbecue, the age-old debate over New England clam chowder vs. Manhattan clam chowder, and where he thinks the next big culinary scene is about emerge. He discusses the origins of his love for cooking, how he maintains quality and consistency when operating 26 different restaurants around the world, and why it's not the end of the world if you can't buy “locally grown and organic."  Plus proper pickling/preserving and other helpful tips.

Order Chef Mario Batali’s Big American Cookbook: 250 Favorite Recipes from Across the USA on Amazon. You can watch his show The Chew every weekday on ABC, visit his website at www.mariobatali.com for all kinds of other fun stuff, and follow him on twitter at @mariobatali.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and leave us a review. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

1