Info

Kickass News

Hosted by Hollywood producer and political media strategist Ben Mathis, KickAss News is a twice weekly podcast that features the most interesting personalities and thought leaders in politics, entertainment, tech, business, science, and more. Enjoy the podcast? Then please support the show and help keep us on the air by making a donation to our GoFundMe campaign at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Another way you can support the show is to subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on iTunes to help keep us ranking strong on the top podcasts charts. For more information visit www.kickassnews.com. Thanks for listening!
RSS Feed Subscribe in iTunes
Kickass News
2017
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: January, 2017
Jan 31, 2017

John Avlon, Editor-in-Chief of The Daily Beast, comes on the podcast to talk about his new book Washington’s Farewell: The Founding Father’s Warning to Future Generations.  

He’ll discuss the origins of George Washington’s Farewell Address and why he describes it as the most famous speech you’ve never read. He’ll reveal some of the other founding fathers worked as ghost writers on the address, discuss how Washington’s Farewell Address influenced President Eisenhower’s famous Farewell Address, and how it was even misused as a rallying cry for one pro-Nazi organization at the start of World War II. Plus John Avlon debunks the phrase most famously associated with the Farewell Address and shares the dire warning that President Trump and Congress ignore at their peril.

If you enjoyed today’s episode then you can order his book Washington’s Farewell: The Founding Father’s Warning to Future Generations on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free through a special offer for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews. Follow John Avlon on twitter at @JohnAvlon or at www.johnavlon.com. You can also read many of John Avlon’s articles and other good stuff covering politics and culture at www.thedailybeast.com.

Today's podcast is sponsored by Decode DC, the podcast that gives you an honest look into how politics affects your life. I've been a fan of Decode DC since been before they become a sponsor so I highly recommend checking them out. Subscribe to Decode DC on iTunes, Stitcher, or wherever you get your podcasts.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Jan 27, 2017

In one of his first actions as President, Donald Trump signed an Executive Order that put the final death nail in the proposed Trans-Pacific Partnership (T.P.P.) this week.  My guests today will discuss what was in the T.P.P., what the U.S. will be missing out on by backing out of the T.P.P., and why Trump's decision just opened a window for China to become the dominant player in the Pacific Rim.  

I'll talk with the outgoing U.S. Trade Ambassador Michael Froman who negotiated the Trans-Pacific Partnership on behalf of the U.S., and then I'll talk with two leading economists who both served as the Chairman of the President's Council of Economic Advisors. Prof. Austan Goolsbee, served as Chairman of the C.E.A. under President Barack Obama, and Prof. Martin Felstein held that position under President Ronald Reagan, but they BOTH agree that free trade is a net win for the U.S. and the demise of the T.P.P. is a terrible loss opportunity for America.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then follow Prof. Austan Goolsbee at @Austan_Goolsbee and Amb. Michael Froman at @MikeFroman.  You can read many articles by Prof. Martin Feldstein at www.nber.org/felstein, and articles and research by Prof. Austan Goolsbee are at www.faculty.chicagobooth.edu/austan.goolsbee.

Today's podcast is sponsored by Decode DC, the podcast that gives you an honest look into how politics affects your life.  I've been a fan of Decode DC since been before they become a sponsor so I highly recommend checking them out.  Subscribe to Decode DC on iTunes, Stitcher, or wherever you get your podcasts.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Jan 23, 2017

When the brutal Iraqi dictator Saddam Hussein was captured in 2003, senior CIA leadership analyst John Nixon was called in to confirm his identity and became the first person to conduct a prolonged interrogation of the man known as the “Butcher of Bagdad.”  He talks about it in his new book Debriefing the President: The Interrogation of Saddam Hussein.

Today Nixon recalls the surreal experience of debriefing one of the most notorious men of our time.  He’ll discuss Saddam’s sadistic sense of humor, his personal heroes, and how his opinion of his fellow leaders in the Middle East.  He’ll talk about Saddam’s delusional view of the US-Iraq relationship, why he thought 9/11 should’ve brought the two countries closer, and his almost prophetic warnings about the rise of extremism and chaos in the region.  Nixon will also reveal what President George W. Bush asked him about Saddam and he’ll weigh in on the Russia-Trump Intelligence Report.

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order John Nixon's book Debriefing the President: The Interrogation of Saddam Hussein on Amazon or you can also download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews

Today's podcast is sponsored by GoDaddy and Blue Apron. Visit www.GoDaddy.com and enter our promo code "KICK30" to get 30% off a new domain.  Check out some of the delicious meals from Blue Apron and get your first 3 meals FREE by going to www.blueapron.com/kick.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Jan 19, 2017

Today I talk with comedian Louie Anderson, who won an Emmy for his role as "Christine" on BASKETS, and Martha Kelly, who plays the brilliantly deadpan "Martha" on BASKETS.  Louie talks about starting out as a joke writer for the king of the one liners - Henny Youngman, coming up as a young comedian in the heyday of the legendary Comedy Store, and getting his big break on the Tonight Show with Johnny Carson, plus Louie reveals which of his family members inspired his chactacter "Christine" on BASKETS.

Martha Kelly talks about coming up in the Austin comedy scene, and how her  BASKETS co-star Zach Galifianakis and Jonathan Krisel convinced her to take the role of "Martha."  Then BASKETS show-runner, executive producer, and director Jonathan Krisel talks about why he often prefers to work with non-actors, how the show got past the audience's preconceived expectations, and what it's like working with his co-creators Zach Galifianakis and Louis C.K. on BASKETS and his co-creators Fred Armisen and Carry Brownstein on his other show Portlandia

Season 2 of BASKETS premieres tonight at 10/9C on FX.  For more information including bonus content, behind the scenes footage and cast and crew interviews, visit www.FXNetworks.com.  Follow Louie Anderson at Louie Anderson at www.LouieAnderson.com or on Twitter at @LouieAnderson.  If you want to see Louie perform live, check his upcoming tour dates.  Follow Martha Kelly on Twitter at @MarthaKelly3 or at www.MarthaKelly.net.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Jan 16, 2017

History Channel’s new dramatic series SIX authentically captures the inside world of America’s elite Special Operations unit known as SEAL Team Six. Today I talk with the creators William Broyles Jr. and David Broyles and the stars of the show Barry Sloane, Kyle Schmid, and Edwin Hodge. They discuss the dangerous and secretive nature of SEAL Team Six’s missions and how it can put a strain on SEAL’s relationships back home. They talk about the psychological strength required of a SEAL, how the show creators’ own military experience influenced the series and the grueling physical training the actors endured at SEAL bootcamp.

SIX airs this Wednesday, January 18, at 10PM Eastern on the History Channel. For more information including bonus content, behind the scenes footage and cast and crew interviews, visit www.History.com.

Today's podcast is sponsored by Mack Weldon Underwear, Home Chef, and Bernie Sanders' new book Our Revolution. For great meals delivered to straight to your door, visit www.HomeChef.com/kickass to get $30 in FREE meals.  Go to www.MackWeldon.com and enter the promo code KICKASS for 20% off.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Jan 12, 2017

Leading global strategist and best-selling author Parag Khanna returns to the show to discuss his new book Technocracy in America: The Rise of the Info-State.  On today’s podcast, he proposes a 7-person Presidency, replacing the U.S. Senate with an Assembly of Governors, and he discusses which cabinet agencies should be eliminated or combined for better efficiency.  He reveals what countries like Singapore and Switzerland are getting right, what the federal government can learn from America’s mayors and cities, and why he says if you want to “Make America Great Again,” build a road.

Order Parag Khanna’s book Technocracy in America: The Rise of the Info-State on Amazon. You can keep up with Parag Khanna at www.paragkhanna.com, at www.facebook.com/drparagkhanna or on Twitter at @paragkhanna.

Today's podcast is sponsored by Blue Apron, GoDaddy, and Bernie Sanders' new book Our Revolution. For great meals delivered to straight to your door, visit www.BlueApron.com/kick and get your first 3 meals FREE.  Also,visit www.GoDaddy.com and enter our promo code "KICK30" to get 30% off a new domain.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Jan 10, 2017

Stephen J. Dubner is the best-selling co-author of Freakonomics and the host of the Freakonomics Radio Podcast.  Today he comes on the show to talk about his new gameshow podcast Tell Me Something I Don't Know.  We’ll discuss the origins of the Freakonomics phenomenon and his friendship with quirkly rogue economist Dr. Stephen Levitt. We’ll talk about the Freakonomics philosophy of why incentives matter, whether or not everyone cheats, and some the perils of exploring the hidden side of everything.

If you enjoyed today’s episode then subscribe to Tell Me Something I Don’t Know and Freakonomics Podcast on iTunes. For more information, visit www.tmsidk.com or www.freakonomics.com. Follow Stephen Dubner on Twitter at @Freakonomics.

Today's podcast is sponsored by Home Chef, GoDaddy, and Bernie Sanders' new book Our Revolution. For great meals delivered to straight to your door, visit www.homechef.com/kickass for $30 in FREE meals.  Also,visit www.GoDaddy.com and enter our promo code "KICK30" to get 30% off a new domain, and 

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Jan 5, 2017

Dr. Daniel and Tana Amen are leading brain health experts and the best-selling authors of The Brain Warrior's Way: Ignite Your Energy and Focus, Attack Illness and Aging, Transform Pain into Purpose. Today they reveal how everything from junk food and cable news to smart phones and alcohol are eating away at our brains every day. They give some helpful advice about the foods and even herbs and spices that can give your brain a boost. They discuss what exercises and activities are not just great for your body, but specifically improve brain function. They talk about some of the secrets to fighting aging and reveal what has been scientifically proven to be the single largest predictor of longevity. Plus they dispel a variety of brain health fads, they extol the virtues of periodic fasting, and explain how the food industry uses neuroscience to manipulate you into buying products that are bad for you.

If you enjoyed today’s episode then subscribe to Daniel and Tana Amen’s new podcast The Brain Warrior’s Way Podcast on iTunes. You can order their book
The Brain Warrior's Way: Ignite Your Energy and Focus, Attack Illness and Aging, Transform Pain into Purpose on Amazon or you can download the audio version for free through a special offer for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews.
For more information visit www.BrainWarriorsWay.com and learn more about the Amen Clinics at the www.AmenClinics.com. Follow the Amens on Twitter at @DocAmen and @TanaAmen.

Today's podcast is sponsored by GoDaddy. Visit www.GoDaddy.com and enter our promo code "KICK30" to get 30% off a new domain.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

Jan 2, 2017

Bradley C. Birkenfeld is the Swiss private banker who became the biggest financial whistleblower in history when he blew the lid of off secretive Swiss banks by exposing how UBS, the world’s largest bank, helped ultra-wealthy Americans commit billions in tax fraud.  Today he’ll reveal the dirty little secrets of Swiss Banking and UBS’s dealings with the brother of the world’s most notorious terrorist.  He’ll discuss how UBS courted wealthy Americans who wanted to hide their money, and then made it as hard as possible for their clients to withdraw from their own accounts.  He’ll expose the surprisingly cozy ties between UBS and Washington politicians and how that relationship may have led Justice Department officials to "throw him under the bus" to protect some of the wealthiest and most powerful people in America.  

If you enjoyed today’s podcast, then you can order Bradley Birkenfeld's book Lucifer’s Banker: The Untold Story of How I Destroyed Swiss Bank Secrecy on Amazon or you can also download the audio version for free at www.audibletrial.com/kickassnews.  For more information on Bradley Birkenfeld, visit www.LucifersBanker.com and follow him on Twitter at @LucifersBanker.  

Today's podcast is sponsored by GoDaddy.  Visit www.GoDaddy.com and enter our promo code "KICK30" to get 30% off a new domain.

Please subscribe to Kickass News on iTunes and take a moment to take our listener survey at www.podsurvey.com/KICK. And support the show by donating at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Visit www.kickassnews.com for more fun stuff.

1