Info

Kickass News

Hosted by Hollywood producer and political media strategist Ben Mathis, KickAss News is a twice weekly podcast that features the most interesting personalities and thought leaders in politics, entertainment, tech, business, science, and more. Enjoy the podcast? Then please support the show and help keep us on the air by making a donation to our GoFundMe campaign at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Another way you can support the show is to subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on iTunes to help keep us ranking strong on the top podcasts charts. For more information visit www.kickassnews.com. Thanks for listening!
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
Kickass News
2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: August, 2015
Aug 27, 2015

Republican pollster Kristen Soltis Anderson is founding partner at the polling firm Echelon Insights.  She's also the co-host of the political podcast The Pollsters and author of a new book called The Selfie Vote: Where Millennials Are Leading America (and How Republicans Can Keep Up).  

 

 

She'll talk about what separates millennials from previous generations and how their values and priorities are shaping their politics.  Kristen warns that if Republicans write off millennials now, they may never get them back.  She'll outline a plan for winning young voters with a conservative message that addresses their priorities and relates to their values.  Then she'll talk about who in the 2016 field "gets it" and who doesn't.  Plus she'll share some broader polling data on the Trump phenomenon, the Hillary email scandal, and the issues that may drive the 2016 election.

 

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

Aug 24, 2015

My guest today is Ronald Bailey.  He's an award-winning science journalist for Reason Magazine and an adjunct scholar at the Cato Institute.  In his new book THE END OF DOOM: ENVIRONMENTAL RENEWAL IN THE TWENTY-FIRST CENTURYhe says the sky ISN'T falling, and in fact, the world is becoming safer, cleaner, and healthier than ever before.  On this podcast, he'll present the proponderance of scientific data debunking a wide range of environmental alarmist myths about overpopulation, world hunger, the "energy crisis," GMOs & pesticides, deforestation, the "cancer epidemic," endangered species, and more.

 

He'll reveal how activists parading as "scientists" completely ignore the scientific method and overwhelming data when it contradicts their wild theories.  Why?  Because sensational predictions of environmental apocalypse and misinformation campaigns against things like vaccination mask a radically anti-capitalist agenda, and doom has become a powerful fundraising tool for some of the world's biggest environmental organizations.  Plus Ron Bailey will argue for a rational, measured approach to climate change and explain how the FDA is killing millions more people than it helps by delaying life-saving drugs from hitting the market.

 

If you enjoyed listening to this episode then please subscribe to "KickAss Politics with Ben Mathis" on iTunes so you'll receive new episodes as they become available. For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

Aug 18, 2015

Welcome to the preview station for KickAss Politics with Ben Mathis!  My guest today is Arthur C. Brooks, best-selling conservative author and president of the American Enterprise Institute.  He has a new book called THE CONSERVATIVE HEART: HOW TO BUILD A FAIRER, HAPPIER, AND MORE PROSPEROUS AMERICA.  He says conservatives need to stop just being against things and start being FOR people.  He talks about his journey to from a french horn player and a liberal ex-patriot living in Barcelona to economist, best-selling conservative author and head of A.E.I.  He believes conservatives must become better at delivering their message and relating to everyday Americans if they're going to grow the party and he has some advice for the 2016 candidates.  He also says Republicans need to correct the impression that they are against entitlements and a social safety net and they need to make fighting poverty and lifting up people a moral priority.

 

This is just a sample episode as part of the KickAss Politics preview station.  If you enjoyed listening to this episode, there are many more episodes at our main iTunes station at "KickAss Politics with Ben Mathis.”  Just go to the link below, then click “View in iTunes” and “Subscribe.”

 

https://itun.es/i6Sq5Vn 

 

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

 

Aug 17, 2015

In the summer of 2009, South Carolina Governor Mark Sanford was a darling of the Tea Party and a leading contender for the GOP nomination in 2012 until it all came crashing down in a bizarre sex scandal and an even more bizarre attempt at "damage control."  His speechwriter Barton Swaim had a front row seat for the fiasco and he writes about it in his new book THE SPEECHWRITER: A BRIEF POLITICAL EDUCATION.  

He'll discuss the scandal as a case study in how NOT to do damage control.  He'll also talk about the former Governor's legendary cheapness, his obsession with Rosa Parks, and what it's like to be a speechwriter for a politician who loves bad writing.  Plus Barton will talk about what it's like to work in the political spin room and his observations about politicians in general.

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

 

Aug 17, 2015

Welcome to the preview station for KickAss Politics with Ben Mathis!  In the last podcast, we covered the broad strokes of President Obama’s nuclear deal with Iran as well as the ramifications of this deal for the Middle East and for U.S. diplomacy.  In today’s podcast, we’ll focus on the one who has the most to lose in this deal - Israel.  Today’s guest is Danny Ayalon.  He’s the former Israeli Ambassador to the U.S. and served as the Deputy Foreign Minister under the current Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu.  He’ll discuss what the Iran deal means for Israel, how it may lead to some surprising alliances with Israel’s Arab neighbors, and we’ll discuss Prime Minister Netanyahu’s next move.

 

 
For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
Aug 16, 2015

In today's episode, we'll look at just what's in President Obama's nuclear agreement with Iran and what it means for U.S. prestige, Israel, and the Middle East.  Will it set Iran on a path torward a nuclear bomb?  Will it set off a nuclear arms race among other Middle East nations?  Will it set a dangerous precedent in U.S. foreign policy.  We'll discuss all of this with Michael Rubin.  He's a former Pentagon official specializing in Iran and a Middle East scholar with the American Enterprise Insititute.  He has written extensively on the subject of rogue regimes and Iran's nuclear ambitions, and he'll explain why this deal is not something to celebrate.

 

 
For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
Aug 16, 2015

In today's episode, I talk with Bruce Carlson, the host of the very popular podcast "My History Can Beat Up Your Politics."  Bruce takes the politics of today and puts it into larger historical context for listeners.  He says knowledge of the political history of America    is key to putting political devleopments into perspective, controlling heated partisanship, and creating better and more informed voters.  He'll share historical precedents for the 2016 election, give us a crash course in the "Lyndon Johnson treatment," discuss his favorite "what ifs" in American history, and give his two cents on the decision to knock Alexander Hamilton off the $10 bill.

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
Aug 15, 2015

Today's guest is John Tamny.  He is the editor of RealClearMarkets.com and the political economy editor at Forbes Magazine.  He’s got new book called Popular Economics: What the Rolling Stones, Downton Abbey, and LeBron James Can Teach You About Economics.  He’ll pull back to the curtain to explain how economics is one of the simplest and most basic disciplines to understand because according to him everyone is an economist.  He’ll explain how the Dallas Cowboys, and Paris Hilton are excellent examples of good and bad tax policy.  And how Monday Night Football and HBO's The Sopranos reveal the downside of anti-trust regulation.  He'll also explain why the U.S. should eliminate the dividend tax, why Americans should embrace free trade, and why he thinks it's time for us to go back to the gold standard.

 

 
For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

 

Aug 12, 2015

Famed neurosurgeon, author and now Presidential candidate Dr. Ben Carson comes on the podcast to talk about the GOP debate, his suprising political ascent, the issues that matter most to him, and some of the life lessons he's picked up along the way.  He'll tell us how his speech at the National Prayer Breakfast two years ago and his subsquent political rise interrupted his plan for a quiet retirement and why he feels compelled to run for office for the first time in his life.  Plus Dr. Carson will talk about what it's like to be the only vegetarian in the GOP Presidential field, how American's can improve their health, and how a fit of rage when he was a boy almost turned into a tragedy and changed the course of his life.

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

 

Aug 12, 2015

Does it seem like America is straying farther from the original framework designed by our Founding Fathers?  Does it seem like the Federal government is increasingly encroaching on the rights of individuals and the states?  Do you think the President is expanding the powers of the Executive Branch into dangerous Constitutional territory?

If so, then you are not alone.  Senator Mike Lee says he's spent the past 4 years in the U.S. Senate getting a crash course in how politicians, judges, and bureaucrats are slowly wittling away at the Constitution and the Bill of Rights.  He says we're entering a period of Constitutional Crisis and he discusses it in his new book, OUR LOST CONSTITUTION: THE WILLFULL SUBVERSION OF AMERICA'S FOUNDING DOCUMENT.  He's coming on the podcast to talk about our Constitutional origins, how we've strayed so far from them, and how we can get them back.  Plus he'll tell us why Senator Harry Reid once locked him in a garage!  It's a true story.

 
For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
Aug 12, 2015

Did you know that many of the 13 colonies were founded as tax havens from the British?  Or that our Founding Fathers declared independence from Britain because King George wanted to raise the 1-2% on colonial Americans to 3-4%?  Compare that to the 33% income tax that the average American pays today!  Did you know that the tax on your telephone calls was originally intended to be a "temporary tax" to pay for the Spanish-American War over 100 years ago?

 

How did taxes get so out of control between 1776 and now?  Grover Norquist, president and founder of Americans for Tax Reform has a new book called END THE IRS BEFORE IT ENDS US: HOW TO RESTORY A LOW-TAX, HIGH GROWTH, WEALTHY AMERICA and he is coming back on the show to explain America has strayed so far from our anti-tax, pro-liberty origins.

He says the IRS has gotten out of control and he has a plan to roll back taxes and promote economic growth with the eventual goal of abolishing the IRS entirely.  He'll provide tips on how every American can reduce their individual tax burden.  

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
Aug 11, 2015

In yesterday's episode, we talked about how law enforcement agencies at the local, state and federal levels have been misusing U.S. civil asset forfeiture laws to seize billions in property and money from ordinary law-abiding Americans.  They're taking homes, cars, boats, and even the cash out of your wallet.

In this episode, you'll hear about how the feds are taking civil asset forfeiture abuse one step farther and literally stealing money out of the bank accounts of citizens who have done nothing wrong.  You NEED to download this episode, because you could be their next victim.

We'll also reveal that one of the worst abusers of civil asset forfeiture laws is President Obama's new U.S. Attorney General.  In just one case, her department took $446,000 straight from the bank account of three brothers who had done nothing wrong and were never accused of any crime.  And worst of all, her department drug the case on for 2 1/2 years without even giving the brothers a hearing before a judge.

We'll talk to a man who had $35,000 stolen from his bank account by the IRS, plus we'll talk with Rob Johnson, an attorney with the Institute for Justice,  and Roger Pilon, the founder and director of the Cato Institute's Center for Constitutional Studies.

 
For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
Aug 11, 2015

Can law enforcement take your stuff even if you've committed no crime?  Yes the can.  Money?  Yep, they can take that too.  In fact, law enforcement at the federal, state and local levels are doing it every day.  They're seizing cars, boats, jewelry, cash, and even homes and businesses all without ever charging the owner with any crime.  

It's a little known but widely abused area of law called Civil Asset Forfeiture and it's turning entire police departments into financial predators.  In this episode, I'll talk to a single mom who got shook down by cops for $10,000 during a routine traffic stop and one man who nearly lost his family business thanks to the the police's preditory law.  And neither of these people committed any crime.  I'll also talk with Rob Johnson, an attorney with the Institute for Justice, who has defended a number of these cases, and Roger Pilon, the founder and director of the Cato Institute's Center for Constitutional Studies.

 
Subscribe to the podcast on iTunes and leave us a review.  For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
Aug 11, 2015

Last week was President's Day and in this episode, I'll provide a brief history of the holiday and talk about how our founding father George Washington has really gotten shortchanged with this whole President's Day thing.  I'll look at the many ways in which our country would not be the same or might not even exist today if it hadn't been for our first President and our greatest patriot.  Today I'm making the case for why George Washington deserves his own day.

 
Be sure to subscribe on iTunes and leave us a review.  For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
 
Aug 11, 2015

In yesterday's podcast, Churchill on Leadership, I talked with Dr. Steven F. Hayward about the leadership qualities that made Winston Churchill one of the greatest men in history.  In this short bonus podcast, I'll take a look at the lighter side of Sir Winston with a collection of some of my favorite quotes and anecdotes that highlight the razer sharp wit of Winston Churchill.

 
Be sure to subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on iTunes.  For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

 

Aug 11, 2015

50 years ago this past Saturday, the world mourned the passing of the greatest leader of the 20th Century - Sir Winston S. Churchill.  On the anniversary of Churchill's death, I'll sit down with Dr. Steven F. Hayward, author of Churchill on Leadership to discuss some of the qualities that made Winston Churchill a remarkable leader and a towering figure in history.

 
Be sure to subscribe to the show on iTunes and leave us a review.  For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
Aug 11, 2015
In this episode, I ask Stephen Hadley, the former National Security Advisor to President George W. Bush, just how dangerous is the world today?"  We also talk about the Islamic StateVladimir Putin, and the need for a greater U.S. investment in conflict prevention and post-conflict infrastructure.
 
 
If you like this episode then subscribe and leave us a review on iTunes.  For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

 

Aug 11, 2015

Welcome to this preview station for KickAss Politics In my recent interview with Fox News correspondent Jennifer Griffin, we discussed her experience as a journalist in South Africa covering the end of apartheid and the release of Nelson Mandela after 27 years in prison.  Our conversation inspired me dedicate an entire episode to Nelson Mandela.  He was a man of remarkable personal strength, wisdom and humility who represented the very best of the human spirit.  Sadly though, Mandela's memory serves as a stark contrast to the so called "leaders" in today's African-American community.  It's Martin Luther King Jr. Day, and in the wake of the Ferguson riots and recent violence against police, I'll ask where are the civil rights heroes of today?  Because African-Americans deserve a Neson Mandela, not an Al Sharpton.

 
If you like this episode then please subscribe and leave us a review on iTunes.  For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

 

Aug 11, 2015

Welcome to this preview station for KickAss Politics!  In this podcast, I talk with Fox News National Security Correspondent Jennifer Griffin.  We talk about her and her husband's experiences in the heart of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and her early years covering the fall of Aparheid and the release of Nelson Mandela.  She also tells me about the transition from reporting in some of the most dangerous places in the world to being a working mom and Fox Pentagon Correspondent and how that experience has led to a surprising bond with our troops returning from Iraq and Afghanistan.  She reveal the scariest moment of her life as a foreign correspondent in the world's hot zones and she tells me which national security concerns are the ones that keep her up at night.

 
 
If you enjoy this episode, then please subscribe and leave us a review on iTunes.  For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.
Aug 5, 2015

In this first episode of KickAss Politics, I'll explore how the emerging "sharing economy" and innovative businesses like Uber, Lyft and AirBnB are radically reshaping our notions of ownership and traditional distribution models.  Then I'll talk with Grover Norquist, president and founder of Americans for Tax Reform, about how government regulators and politicans are stifling the sharing economy and going out of their way to tax, over-regulate, and even destroy innovative companies in spite of overwhelming popular support.  I'll also talk with Grover about his wacky and enlightening experience as a Libertarian Republican at this year's Burning Man festival.  

 

If you enjoy this episode, then please help us out by subscribing and leaving us a review on iTunes.  Then you'll receive new episodes as soon they become available.  https://itun.es/i6Sv9Ym

 

For more information, visit www.KickAssPolitics.com, and if you enjoyed the show and would like to help keep us on the air, then please show your support at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.

1