Info

Kickass News

Hosted by Hollywood producer and political media strategist Ben Mathis, KickAss News is a twice weekly podcast that features the most interesting personalities and thought leaders in politics, entertainment, tech, business, science, and more. Enjoy the podcast? Then please support the show and help keep us on the air by making a donation to our GoFundMe campaign at www.gofundme.com/kickassnews. Another way you can support the show is to subscribe to the podcast and leave us a review on iTunes to help keep us ranking strong on the top podcasts charts. For more information visit www.kickassnews.com. Thanks for listening!
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
Kickass News
2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: April, 2016
Apr 28, 2016

 

Fox News political analyst and co-host of “The Five” Juan Williams talks about the modern day figures who have reshaped and affirmed the founding father’s vision of America. They range from Billy Graham and Ronald Reagan to Martin Luther King and Eleanor Roosevelt. Juan Williams talks about the situations that the framers of our Constitution never dreamt of and how 20th Century leaders applied their founding principles to meet the challenges and changes of modern day America.

If you enjoyed today’s episode, order Juan Williams' book WE THE PEOPLE: THE MODERN-DAY FIGURES WHO HAVE RESHAPED AND AFFIRMED THE FOUNDING FATHER’S VISION OF AMERICA on Amazon.  You can follow Juan Williams at on Twitter at @TheJuanWilliams and watch him every weekday at 5PM EST on "The Five" on Fox News.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. And be sure to vote for Kickass Politics in the 2016 Podcast Awards at www.podcastawards.com.

Apr 27, 2016

Go to www.podcastawards.com and nominate KICKASS POLITICS in the categories for PEOPLE'S CHOICE and NEWS & POLITICS.  

Share your support on Twitter by tagging @podcastawards and @KApolitics & using the hashtag ‪#‎pca16‬.  The deadline for nominations is this Sat 4/30 so don't wait and nominate the show now!  Thanks for listening!  

Apr 25, 2016

My guest today is Arianna Huffington, co-founder, president, and editor-in-chief of the Huffington Post and author of the new best-seller THE SLEEP REVOLUTION: TRANSFORMING YOUR LIFE ONE NIGHT AT A TIME.  She talks about America's dangerous sleep crisis and how our culture of ambition discourages us from getting a proper night's sleep.  But she says we've got it all wrong.  In fact, sleep is the ultimate performance enhancer.

She'll discuss the research that shows how sleep deprivation has a negative effect on our  physical and mental health, our brain function, our job performance, our relationships, and our overall happiness.  She'll reveal what actually goes on with our body and mind while we're sleeping, she'll discuss her personal sleep ritual and 12 tips for getting a better night's rest.

If you enjoyed today’s episode, order THE SLEEP REVOLUTION: TRANSFORMING YOUR LIFE ONE NIGHT AT A TIME on Amazon or download the audiobook for free through a special trial offer just for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics.com. You can follow Arianna Huffington at www.huffingtonpost.com/arianna or on Twitter at @ariannahuff.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Apr 18, 2016

My guest today is comedy legend Carl Reiner. With a dozen Emmys, he’s behind some of the funniest television shows and movies from his start on Sid Caesar’s “Your Show of Shows” and “The Dick Van Dyke Show” to his collaboration with Mel Brooks on the Grammy-winning “The 2000 Year Old Man” and Steve Martin on films like “The Jerk.”

On today’s show, Carl Reiner talks about the early days of television, his start in showbiz on Sid Caesar's “Your Show of Shows,” and how it inspired him to create the beloved “Dick Van Dyke Show.” We talk about his son Rob Reiner, his hero Mark Twain, directing Steve Martin in “The Jerk,” his brush with Hollywood’s communist witch-hunt, and how he avoided naming names. Plus Carl Reiner talks about his best-friend Mel Brooks, how they came up with the “The 2000 Year Old Man," and Carl's new book "Why & When The Dick Van Dyke Show Was Born."

If you enjoyed this episode, you can follow Carl Reiner on Twitter at @carlreiner, and you should definitely buy Carl Reiner’s wonderful new book “Why & When The Dick Van Dyke Show Was Born.”  If you order it at www.randomcontent.com then Carl to will even sign it and inscribe it with a special message just for you.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Apr 15, 2016

 

On today’s episode, I talk about China's One Child Policy with Mei Fong, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter who served as the China correspondent for the Wall Street Journal. She has a new book called ONE CHILD: THE STORY OF CHINA’S MOST RADICAL EXPERIMENT.

We’ll talk about how the One Child policy started as a “quick fix” to China’s overpopulation problem and how it suddenly came to an end 35 years later in October 2015. We’ll talk about the many people who were collateral damage in China’s attempt to socially engineer families including China’s rural poor who suffered forced abortions and sterilization. Finally, we’ll examine the many unintended consequences of the One Child Policy including a rapidly growing elderly population with no one to care for them, a massive gender imbalance and a whole lot of lonely men, and a shrinking workforce that is threatening to undermine the bedrock of the Chinese economy - manufacturing.

If you enjoyed today’s episode, order ONE CHILD: THE STORY OF CHINA'S MOST RADICAL EXPERIMENT on Amazon or download the audiobook for free through a special trial offer just for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics.com. You can follow Mei Fong at www.meifong.com or on Twitter at @meifongwriter.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Apr 10, 2016

My guest today is renowned documentary filmmaker Ken Burns.  He has made 26 documentary specials for PBS including The Civil War, Baseball, Jazz, The War (about World War II), The West, and The Roosevelts: An Intimate Portrait which have earned him 13 Emmy Awards, 2 Oscar nominations, and a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.  He has a new two-part documentary on the life of Jackie Robinson which airs April 11 & 12 at 9PM Eastern on PBS.

On today's podcast, Ken Burns will talk about how the first black baseball player revolutionized the game and brought down baseball’s color barrier with the sheer force of his talent.  He’ll also talk about how Robinson inspired many civil rights leaders like Martin Luther King and the difficult relationship he had with that movement in the later years of his life.  Plus Ken Burns will talk about his research process, what he looks for in a story, and how the “Ken Burns effect” ended up on every Apple computer.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review.  You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics.  Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Apr 7, 2016

Fred Kaplan, Pulitzer Prize-winning national security journalist for Slate Magazine, talks about his new book DARK TERRITORY: THE SECRET HISTORY OF CYBER WAR. We discuss why it took Washington decades to take cyber threats seriously, and how a computer pioneer and a Mathew Broderick film led President Ronald Reagan to sign the first presidential directive on cyber security.

Fred Kaplan reveals how the 2010 cyber attack that damaged Iranian nuclear facilities may have opened a pandora’s box, we’ll get an idea of just how much U.S. cyber teams are capable of, and we’ll weigh the cyber arms race between the U.S. and China. Plus we discuss the how the FBI broke into the San Bernadino shooter’s iPhone and whether Hillary Clinton’s private unsecured email server might have gotten hacked.

If you enjoyed today’s episode, order DARK TERRITORY: THE SECRET HISTORY OF CYBER WAR on Amazon or download the audiobook for free through a special trial offer just for our listeners at www.audibletrial.com/kickasspolitics.com. You can read Fred Kaplan's column at www.slate.com or at www.fredkaplan.info. You can follow Jacob Weisberg on Twitter at @fmkaplan.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

Apr 5, 2016

My guest today is Jacob Weisberg, editor-in-chief of Slate.com.  He has a new podcast called Trumpcast, and he's determined to warn voters about Donald Trump until he puts an end to Trump's political ambitions once and for all.

We'll talk about how the whole Trump phenomenon happened in the first place,
the prospect of a brokered GOP convention, and Trump’s chances in the general election.  Jacob will discuss what a psychologist's analysis revealed about Donald Trump, what it is that Trump voters are so angry about, and why comparing Trump to Hitler is ridiculous, but comparing Trump to other authoritarian figures like Mussolini might not be ridiculous at all.  Plus we'll talk about getting trolled by Trumpinistas on social media and Jacob’s review of Trump wine.

If you enjoyed this episode, then subscribe to Jacob Weisberg's podcast Trumpcast on iTunes or at www.slate.com.  You can follow Jacob Weisberg on Twitter at @jacobwe.

Please subscribe to KickAss Politics on iTunes and leave us a review. You can also help us reach our fundraising goal for this year and donate at www.gofundme.com/kickasspolitics. Or go to the website for the show at www.kickasspolitics.com and click on the donate button. Thanks for listening!

1